English

ALBA:

  1. Ioan Raica (Sebes) Memorial House

Location: Sebes, Alba county

Located in downtown near City Hall on North Front Street, Municipal Museum Sebes hosts exhibits Sebes relevant to the history and surroundings: archeology collection (relevant exhibits from the Neolithic event-history, and a small collection of clocks, vases pewter, ceramics and china, pottery and glass utensils and containers pharmacy etc.), ethnographic collection (traditional Romanian and Saxon objects, costumes, tools and household items, icons painted on wood and glass, pottery) African ethnographic collection formed in the nineteenth century by explorer Franz Binder (1820- 1875), a collection of fine arts (brings together diverse works made by  local artists  or in nearby areas as Hentia Sava (1848-1904), Herman Meuselbach (1858 –

1924), Karl Brandsch), a collection of natural sciences (exhibits flora and fauna of the region Sebes). The museum park are exposed rare plants brought from Rapa Rosie or as Iris pumilla area (dwarf iris), Agropyrom cristatum (ancestor barley) and Papau tree (Asimina triloba) of American origin and acclimatized here in 1976.

The building that houses the museum is one of the oldest stone building in Sebes, was built in the XV century  and substantially increased in the early followers. In its composition are visible architectural elements specific styles Gothic, Baroque and Renaissance. Although it has undergone many renovations during the XVIII-XX centuries, south facade of the building retain specific aspect buildings built in the sixteenth century.

Here were accommodated princes of Transylvania, while in the Principality has hosted many diets. In 1540,  in this building John Zápolya  died, prince of Transylvania and king of Hungary, hence their name may come from ” House Zápolya” and „Könighaus”.

Since 1951 „House Zápolya” was turned into a museum, posture and is located now. The monument was restored during 1960-1962. Since 1997 the museum is ascribed Cultural Center „Lucian Blaga”. In the autumn of 2001 the museum in Sebes has changed its name into Municipal Museum „John Raica”.

 

  1. Alexander Ciura Memorial House

Location: Abrud, Alba County

In this house was born and raised Alexander Ciura (1876-1936) – priest, teacher, writer, publicist, militant union with Romania in 1918.

He attended primary school in Abrud Gymnasium in Blaj and Sibiu (1886-1894), Faculty of Theology (1894- 1898), then the Faculty of Letters in Budapest, specializing in Romanian and Elina (1899-1902).

He was the chair of Moral substitute Seminary in Blaj (1898-1899), professor of Romanian Gymnasium in Blaj (1902-1919, Romanian professor and director of the highschool  ” George Baritiu” in Cluj (1919-1936).

He was one of the founders and one the first editors of the magazine „Star” in Budapest in 1902 and 1906 in Sibiu, where,  with O. Goga, O. Taslauanu, AP Banuț published numerous sketches, short stories, reviews, etc.

After 1902 he worked in the newsroom sheet „Union” in Blaj, the main contributor to regular Transylvanian in his time, author of books with sketches, short stories, translations.

This house was the headquarters of the revolution of 1848-1849, the writer grandparents, Joseph and Francisca, being in the forefront of the revolution. There was the meeting between Nicolae Balcescu and  Avram Iancu,  and  here Ion Maiorescu „Reports”.

The building houses a permanent exhibition of documents on Abrudului history, especially from 1848-1849.

 

  1. Avram Iancu Memorial House

Location: village Avram Iancu, Alba County

Near the shore Aries and surrounded by towering trees is the old house where he was born and raised Avram Iancu, the leader of the Revolution from 1848 – 1849 in Transylvania.

By his  testament from 1850, convinced that the way the Romanian nation will regain legal rights, Avram Iancu left the house inherited from his father „in favor of the Romanian nation” with all his fortune to establish an Academy for Law.

Built around 1800 by his parents, the building – a monument of folk architecture, it is a typical  traditional house on a stone foundation walls wooden slats beaten, plastered and whitewashed.

The building has two rooms and a porch  and a four slopes roof, higher than two and a half times the building walls, covered with pine shingles.

The interior retains some of the original furniture and decoration: table, benches, chairs, Plateau, dressers, icons and objects commemorative photos, family documents, personal items of Avram Iancu: cradle, whistle, razor, weapons and other items between portrait executed copy of Barbu Iscovescu.

By caring  of  the Company „Astra”, the house became a small museum building since 1880. In commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the birth of Avram Iancu in 1924, when major celebrations were held,  the company „Astra” established a foundation consists of school, library, church and museum. By 1972, the annexes have served as classrooms for school with grades I – IV in the village of Incesti. In 1972,  at the centenary of the death of Avram Iancu, the museum was reorganized, forming the right annex an exhibition of history and ethnography.

 

ARAD

 

  1. Vasile Goldis Memorial House

Location: Arad, Arad County

In 2003, the house where he lived, thought, and then acted as teacher, journalist and politician Vasile Goldis, was officially inaugurate the Memorial Museum named ideologist of the Great Union. The museum is housed in a listed building representative Arad – Roman palace (important especially because it is a private investment).

Faithfully served the ideals of freedom and national unity of the Romanians, Vasile Goldis is among the inspirers and organizers of the 1918 Union mighty act with all that he meant to forge Romanian unitary state among progressive thinkers of the time having passed generous ideas emancipation of the masses and understanding among all peoples of the world.

Since opening until today,  the Memorial Museum (part of the Western University „Vasile Goldis”) during face, leaving to crumble knock life lived great moments that shaped the Roman palace, where there is leaven Great Union strategy.

In this place he found the newspaper „Romania” and typographical Institute ‘Concordia’, headed by Vasile Goldis.

Visitors can admire: study documents, personal papers, documents proving citizenship approach of V. Goldis correspondence with names such as – I.L. Caragiale, O. Goga, Titulescu.

Photos vintage original, extremely valuable publications led Goldiș on he collaborated, books in its library (some wearing his signature) attests climate of an era of exceptional daily.

Spirit of the Age is supported by the restoration of that period characteristic spaces (dining room respectively  the editorial office) and exposure showcases elegant, perfect and enlightened individual, of antique pictures and documents in exceptional graphic conditions.

It is said that every age has its his messengers. Vasile Goldis was one of those spirits that burned in the fire of passion to achieve a collective ideal. It concerned a perennial horizon of values, taken on a historical scale, summarized in the phrase nation generic.

We must not forget that Vasile Goldis, immediately after the Great Union, campaigning to raise a monument in the city that was the de facto capital of the Great Union.

 

  1. Adam Müller-Guttenbrunn Memorial House

Location: village Zabrani, Arad County

Writer, novelist and scholar, Adam Guttenbrunn Müller (1852-1923) was born in the middle of Banat, son of peasants from Guttenbrun (today Zabrani). He attended German schools in their hometown, Sibiu and Timisoara, where he practiced various trades. In 1870 he went to Vienna, he worked as a telegrapher in Linz and Bad Ischl. Meanwhile further he studied by himself, writing and theater. Only in 1879, when his works fall into the hands of the Vienna theater director, he manages to move the capital of the Austrian Empire. It was, in turn, official columnist and theater critic.

Between 1893-1896 he was director at Vienna Raimundtheater and between 1898-1903, founding director of the new institution Kaiserjubiläums-Stadttheater (city theater Jubilee), today Volksoper (popular opera).

In a significant part of his literary work („Iakob and his sons,” „Bells native country”, etc.), the writer exalts the beauty of the village of Banat, with customs, traditions and its nineteenth-century occupations.

For its entire value of literary, theatrical and philosophical, in 1922 the University of Vienna gave Adam Müller Guttenbrunn  the title „Doctor Honoris Causa” and the Romanian government awarded him the same year,  with the Medal „Bene Merenti” Class I.

Opened in 1970, the museum illustrates troubled childhood, the years of study at Timisoara and Sibiu, but his literary beginnings. Much of the exhibition is devoted to works inspired by social life and historical past of the German population of Banat. We recall here works as „Der Klein Schwab” (Little Swabian) reprinted in 1967 in Bucharest, „Jacob Meister und seine Kindersite” („Master Jacob and his children”) inspired by the life of his native village, introducing and autobiographical elements. It is also recognized for two major cultural trilogy, the first on the topic of German colonization in Banat, the second is dedicated to German writer Nicolaus Lenau („Parental home”, „Demonic Years” and „Flying High”, published between 1918- 1921).

Beside them exhibited documents, photographs, furniture and personal items. Some original parts, are  the working table and chair. Emphasizes the exhibition its links with Romanian culture is especially appreciated by the Romanian people, he fought for the rights of Romanians and Germans oppressed.

Adam Müller-Guttenbrunn Memorial Museum belongs to Arad Museum Complex.

 

ARGES

 

  1. Ion Mihalache Memorial House

Location: Village Dobresti, Dobrești commune, Arges county

Situated in the village Dobrești,  „Ion Mihalache” Memorial House  is arranged in a structure built in 1880.

Ion Mihalache (b. March 3, 1882, Topoloveni – d. March 6, 1963 Ramnicu Sarat,  in the physical extermination imprisonment of political prisoners) was a teacher, politician, minister in several governments, founder and president of the Peasant Party, Vice President of the National Peasant Party.

Son of a poor peasant, endowed with exceptional intellectual capacity, he attended normal school and became a teacher.

In the First World War, Ion Mihalache was distinguished in the Patriotic battles in muscelene regiments, the passes in Dambovita Valley, on the fronts of Oituz and Marasesti, being decorated with war military order „Michael the Brave”. He organized and campaigned for the referendum victory by the population of Basarabia decided in 1918 to return to the motherland.

After the First World War, he founded the Peasant Party, aiming to fulfill what King Ferdinand I of Romania promised soldiers on the frontline, in the speech that he wrote together with Queen Mary A. Barbu Stirbey speech that promised land to the peasants and who gave life to fight heroically to Maraști, Marasesti and Oituz.

After the electoral success of 1919, Mihalache’s party formed a government building next to the Romanian National Party in Transylvania, forming government-Prince Alexandru Vaida government. Ion Mihalache held the position of Minister of Agriculture and areas (December 16, 1919 – march 12 1920).

A significant achievement that gave content and depth due to agricultural education was the law of 1920 (known as the law of Ion Mihalache) whereby for training students were assigned to schools agricultural land area of ​​about 100 ha, and 25 ha of horticulture.

In the conception of Mihalache, lies not in the country’s industrialization but in agriculture. He fought for cooperative formed voluntarily by peasants given land in return from the front. In order to implement ideas, organized by the village community Topoloveni, Arges surfaces to produce optimum cost associating the peasants in a cooperation with notable results in economic and social terms. At Topoloveni, peasants have benefited from high schools, healthcare, cultural centers, communal bathrooms and generally a decent standard of living.

Between 1928 and 1930 Mihalache was Minister of Agriculture and the national governments peasant  Iuliu Maniu and George G. Mironescu. From 1930 to 1933 holds the position of foreign minister in the governments of all national peasant, of Gregory. G. Mironescu and Alexandru Vaida-Voivod and Iuliu Maniu.

After the Communists came to power, the government led by Petru Groza, Ion Mihalache was arrested at diversion known as „the set up from Tamadau” and sentenced to life imprisonment.

Ion Mihalache died in March 1963 in the prison at  Ramnicu Sarat.

 

  1. Vladimir Streinu Memorial House

 

Location: Teiu,  Arges county

The Memorial House was inaugurated on May 28, 1972 in the building that belonged to the family Vladimir Streinu between 1902 – 1972. The exhibits artefacts that belonged to the writer’s family, paintings, folk costumes of the region. Museum Society owns a library (books that belonged to Vladimir Streinu and donated by writers). In the same building is arranged the Village Museum.

Vladimir Streinu (pseudonym of Nicolae Iordache, also signed Apollonius; 1902-1970) was an author, literary critic, deputy, esthetician, literary historian, educator, Romanian writer.

He graduated from primary school in his native village in 1912, after he went to  I.C. Bratianu High School from Pitesti, where it promotes the first four classes.

In April 1917,  at 15 years old, declaring himself greater as age, voluntarily enroll in the army. Between October 1, 1917 – June 21, 1918, he attended a military school, receiving the rank of sergeant. Discharged, continues the day following classes in Pitesti. From this period dates his first literary attempts.

In 1920, after high school,  he sign up at the Faculty of Letters and Philosophy in Bucharest, specialty Modern Philology (French). All contact with the literary life now. In 1922, with the support of the poet Vasile Voiculescu, he is engaged in magazine editorial secretary Romanian Mind, removed from Tudor Arghezi and Ion Pillat. At the same time, he began attending literary Club Sburatorul.

In 1924,  he took the license exam, after which he is named teacher at  the High school Traian in Turnu Severin. Here he meets and marries to  the teacher Elena Vasiliu, future writer Elena Iordache-Streinu. In 1925,  he is professor in Bucharest, and a year later, Vladimir Streinu went to Paris, where preparing a doctoral thesis on Rimbaud, with Professor Fortunat Strowsky.

Literary critic known at  the Sburatorul (hired as editor since 1926), especially in Kalende, Vladimir Streinu becomes editor of Gazeta (1935-1938) and since 1935, literary editor at Life Magazine and Royal Foundations, which will remain until 1941, when new management (Dumitru Caracostea) dismisses, along with Tudor Vianu, George Calinescu, Pompiliu Constantinescu, Serban Cioculescu because of their democratic orientation.

He will return to Royal Foundations Magazine from 1945 – 1947. Since 1942, Vladimir Streinu is appointed director of the literary magazine Concerns, which, since 1943, becomes Kalende. In 1947, the critic his doctoral exam at the University of Iasi with a thesis on the Romanian free verse. But the same year, is once again fired from the Royal Foundations magazine, kicked out of school because of his political views anticommunist.

Since 1945,  he figure’s among the founding members of the Association of cultural resistance Mihai Eminescu.

Between 1948 – 1951, Vladimir Streinu is lung sick, suffering a thoracoplastia. After recovering, between 1953 – 1955, having no means of livelihood, will provide unskilled labor humiliating, such as guard and guide museums at Herastrau Park (then Stalin), inlay worker. Since 1955, he is employed as a researcher at the Institute of Linguistics of the Academy until 1959, when faking them is a list of imaginary facts, is arrested (along with other intellectuals of the interwar force, as Noica) and sentenced to 7 years in prison for reasons obviously political. Released in 1962, becoming senior researcher at the Institute of History and Literary Theory (1965)  at George Calinescu ’s  proposal. Rehabilitated in 1969 is named director Universe Publishing, honorary professor at the Department of Romanian Language and Literature, University of Bucharest, where the lecture of „Aesthetics Romanian poetry”. He died in full creative force, due to a heart attack at 26 November 1970.

„Writing about Teiu without Vladimir Streinu or about Vladimir Streinu without Teiu is an impiety” (Professor Vasile Falcescu).

 

  1. Dinu Lipatti Memorial House

Location: Leordeni, Arges county

Dinu (Constantin) Lipatti (1917-1950) was a famous pianist, composer and Romanian teacher. 16 years of artistic career – 33 years of life have placed among the great pianists of the world. „An artist of divine spirituality” as Francis Poulenc called him, Dinu Lipatti was elected member of the Romanian Academy posthumously.

The Memorial House is open in 1985 in the house built between 1938 and 1942 in Neo-Romanian style, by the father of the great pianist Dinu Lipatti. Here are beloved places of childhood and adolescence, where Dinu Lipatti spent holidays and moments of rest.

Collection of memorial importance has many items that belonged to Dinu Lipatti (Bechstein piano, diplomas, scores), his brother (diplomat and  the man of culture Valentin Lipatti), family, knowledge of the country and abroad. Family photos represent Dinu Lipatti at different ages, along with his teachers (George Enescu, Florica Muzicescu, Mihail Jora). Many photo are executed by Dinu Lipatti, because this was an avid and talented photographer.

Raised in a family with musical tradition – his father was a talented amateur violinist who studied with Pablo Sarasate, his mother, Anna Lipatti, an excellent pianist and his  godfather was George Enescu –  the musical inclinations were recognized and cultivated since childhood. It was accepted as a pupil by demanding piano teacher Florica Muzicescu, who protected him from the mentality of a „child prodigy”, giving instead a serious artistic education, which would enable its native talent development.

In 1936 he begins his career as concert pianist with a series of concerts in Germany and Italy, his reputation continues to grow with each public appearance.

 

At the beginning of World War II  he returns to Bucharest  where he gives piano recitals as performer or accompanist George Enescu.

In 1943 he goes to Scandinavia with his future wife, Madeleine Cantacuzino, also a former pupil of Florica Muzicescu and Madeleine decide to settle in Switzerland, where he became professor of piano at the Conservatory of Geneva. He continued his concert career with piano recitals and as performer with orchestras conducted by Herbert von Karajan or Alceo Galliera, made in studio disc prints.

While preparing for a concert tour in America is found suffering from leukemia. On September 16, 1950, although physically weak, his last public concert takes place in Besançon (France). In the second part of the recital intended to implement the 14 Waltzes in C sharp minor by Frédéric Chopin.  But powers are leaving him. After a long break the audience did not budge from the room, Dinu Lipatti reappears on stage, sits at the piano and performs  why „Jesus bleibt meine Freude” from the cantata „Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben” by Johann Sebastian Bach. With this prayer ended one of the richest and most interesting modern performing arts careers known.

Two and a half months later, on December 2, 1950 Dinu Lipatti dies aged only 33, with the score Quartet in F minor by Ludwig van Beethoven in hand. His last words were: „It’s not enough to be a great composer to write music that should have been chosen as an instrument of God.” The news of his death, the great German pianist Wilhelm Backhaus exclaims: „To us remains the memory of beauty that has given us a profound sorrow”.

His compositions, including „Fantasy for piano, violin and cello Op. 1 „(1933),” tribesmen, suite for orchestra Op. 2 „(1934),” Concertino in classic style room Piano Op. 3 „(1936),” Symphony Concertante for Two Pianos and String Orchestra Op. 5 „(1938),” Sonatina for the Left Hand „(1941) remained mostly unpublished.

 

  1. George Topârceanu Memorial House

Location: Village Namaiesti, Valea Mare-Pravaț, Arges county

Born in Bucharest, the poet lived a good part of his life in Namaesti, where the family settled.

Even after leaving here the poet, his mother continued to live here, creating even a carpet weaving workshop in the monastery of nuns.

Because here he started a family (it seems that at Namaesti  also lived the  poet ‘s wife together with their son) the house  became a memorial house.

The building is a typical muscelean building with basement, first floor and porch at the front, as seen many houses in the mountains.

The museum occupies the first floor – a hall and two rooms, where there is an abundance of original exhibits, copies and facsimiles.  In the lobby is exposed the  last portrait of the poet, a sad figure, foreboding, and several volumes published during his life: happy and sad ballads, original parody, bitter almonds, letters without address (humorous prose and pessimistic), Pirin-Planina, memories from captivity in Bulgaria and others in different editions. There is also the manuscript of an unfinished novel: Miracles Holy cow – the book that was closer to the soul.

In the right room – with furniture from the former work of the poet – are exposed a lot of documents that restore not only the writer’s life, but part of his poetic laboratory. Among them, the original version of the poem Summer Night, completed under the title Night of May. On the desk, the original manuscript of the poem erotic Lover Sleep (1911), dedicated to his future wife,  the teacher Victoria Iuga, a charming brunette.

Other numerous verses facsimile documents on the poet’s life, relations with stepbrother, sculptor Ion Mateescu, with family, with publishers and some of correspondence, photocopy cantata Ballad rushed tenant – composition Gh. Radovanu – complete information about the personality of Topârceanu .

In the library and the bookshelf are works of world literature classics and many books from other lawyers, with dedications. One window was gathered copies of magazines on which he collaborated: Life Romanian, Iași Notes, Notes literary world so humorous. There aren’t missing stick poet box hunting rifle, who played the flute and the wall painting of his wife.

 

BACAU:

 

  1. Rosetti Tescanu – G. Enescu Memorial House

Location: Sat Tescanu, Berești-Tazlau, Bacau County

Taking into account specific characteristics of the building, its location and the surrounding area thinking, Tescanu Rosetti family mansion, built in 1880 in a beautiful arboretum located in a hilly area 37 km from the city of Bacau, in the vicinity of the village Tescani was classified by Vasile Parizescu the President of Romania Collectors Association, in  the category „small palaces”.

In the early twentieth century mansion mansion Rosetti Tescanu becomes the largest Romanian musician, George Enescu. After meeting with his wife in 1909, the great musician came here often, leaving inspired by the beauty of the landscapes. For instance, at Tescani finalized lyrical masterpiece, Oedipus, which he dedicated to Maruca.

By Act of donation made by Maria Cantacuzino – Enescu in 1947, his family mansion became cultural institution. In 1980 it opened „Rosetti Memorial House – Enescu” inside the main building, now Tescani Cultural Centre (1990), and Culture Centre „Rosetti Tescanu – George Enescu” (1993). Since 2006, the memorial house is Tescani section of the National Museum „George Enescu”.

Graduated in law and philosophy, a young talented musician and instrument, academic and politician, Dumitru Tescanu Rosetti (1852 – 1897) remains a cultural personality through his writings in French and Romanian, of which cite „La nuit, it ‘Aurore et le Jour ou L’Empire at Dictature et la Nation „,” Etude sur la critique condition femme dans l’Inde from antique „and” Biography Vasile Conta „.

He was a member at Junimea Society, President of the Cultural League, Bacau branch, founding member of the International I and a friend of a lifetime with Vasile Conta, one of the most important Romanian thinkers of the nineteenth century.

Particularly inclined towards arts and literature, Dumitru Rosetti Tescanu maintains an impressive library that will amaze George Enescu and he will snatch the exclamation: „I wandered into the library Rosetteștilor.”

Indeed, the library counted over twelve thousand volumes inventoried and classified by Dumitru.

Involved in the country’s politics, Dumitru Rosetti Tescani is a Member of the camera twice (in 1879 and between 1889-1895), prefect of Bacau under the government  Th. Rosetti (1888), the town mayor Tescani (1879).

 

  1. Nicu Enea Memorial House

Location: Bacau, Bacau County

In this modest house, with living room and bedroom downstairs and upstairs workshop, built in the early twentieth century, lived and worked in the period 1929 – 1960  the painter Nicu Enea (1897-1960). During 1969/1970, his house, with 133 paintings and 209 graphic works, was donated by the painter’s wife to become a museum.

Thereby, in 1970, the end of a decade since the death of the painter, inaugurated the memorial exhibition of paintings by Nicu Enea: landscapes, portraits, nudes, still lifes, flowers.

Part of the Department of Art Museum Complex „Iulian Antonescu” – Bacau the  collection includes personal items, photographs, correspondence, 60 paintings and graphic signed by Nicu Enea. The exhibition presents an important part of the work from Bacau painter, student of Camille Ressu and painters Jean Al. Steriadi, Nicolae Tonitza and others. In the courtyard there is a bust of the artist in stone, the sculptor Nicolae Enea.

The house was restored in 2004,  and was reopened to the public on May 27, 2005. Today, unfortunately, its image has suffered since leaving only old building in an area dominated by high rise blocks.

Nicu Enea began to live posterity since 1947, 18 years before he died. Condition of out-sider always characterized eyes guild colleagues who could not tolerate his two major victories: winning in 1934, the right to represent Romania at the International Exhibition of Painting in Paris – where to returned with an enviable prize and getting in the 40s, the right to paint the royal palaces. Its good relations with the royal family led, after the fall of the monarchy, the bonding label „painter of the Royal Court” – which created big trouble  to Nicu Enea.

After his best period, 1925-1947, in which he receives numerous awards and outlining the most prestigious halls of Bucharest, Belgrade, Zagreb etc., are sad artistic agony. The man who realized in 1934 allegorical cycle „Arts” in one of the rooms of the Royal Palace and painted, in 1939, the church „St. Voievoizi” CFR Bacau district, ended up „paint” placards, models of newspapers wall and other objects of visual communist propaganda. To obtain a food card, he made portraits of Marxist classics, including Stalin.

Certainly not at the „Bacovia” Theatre Nicu Enea be sought, but even to his house where, with luck, you can see the work of „Elvira”, which did much to talk about Bacau in 1934, the International Exhibition in Paris .

 

  1. George Bacovia Memorial House

Location: Bacau, Bacau County

The Memorial exhibition opened on September 28, 1971 in his parents’ house where the poet  George Bacovia lived (1881-1957), becoming the starting point of any cultural itinerary from Bacau.

In the immediate vicinity of the monumental statue of the Stefan cel Mare, the former Lyceum Street, George Street Bacovia currently at no. 13, old house dress their windows in warm reflections of roses.

In this building dating back to the last decade of the nineteenth century, they are kept numerous personal items and furniture to the poet.

The collection includes approx. 400 objects from donations and purchases from family members poet. In all five rooms for the visiting representative testimonies are exposed, original manuscripts, documents and pieces of heritage.

Memorial House holds a documentary videotape which caught the poet’s life during a voice recording on audio cassette of the poet reciting his verses. Backyard memorials, sculptures belonging ambient invites contemporary artists to meditation and reflection.

Symbolist poet, rediscovered by scholars in many instances stylistic bibliography as valuable subject of study, as well as ordinary lovers of poetry, George Vasiliu – George Bacovia, although disappeared from the life of nearly half a century, part of city life.

His volumes of poetry, which have experienced multiple editions, has been translated into numerous languages. A place and a very active promoter of culture, being one of the founders of the magazine Athenaeum. In recognition of the value of his creation, which he studied in high school, Bacau Theatre, University, School no. 27 Bacau and Buhuși Library received its name and, since 1971, held in Bacau George Bacovia Festival, an event that attracts personalities of Romanian culture.

Meditative spirit, deep, attested and valuable volumes that are still preserved in the library of the house, the exceptional spiritual tenderness – as he is presented his wife, Agatha Grigorescu-Bacovia, in one of the volumes on the poet and Bacovia he distilled destiny, turning it into poetry. He has made known to complain that matter, that bud is pure white and pink and blue and azure dream, that lead is sensitive matters.

 

BIHOR

 

  1. Iosif Vulcan Memorial House

Location: Oradea, Bihor County

Memorial Museum „Iosif Vulcan” was founded in 1964, is devoted just over a year, on the occasion of the centenary of the magazine Familia, in the building which housed the period from 1896 to 1906, the house of Joseph Vulcan and the editors of „family”.

It is located in the city center street of the same name, close to the riverside Quick, which separates only a small park where there is the statue of the great Romanian scholar. The building was built in the late nineteenth century, deck, only with a vaulted basement.

In 2001 it opened a new exhibition of the museum, composed of three sections extended into five rooms: the first contains documents illustrating the life and work of Joseph Vulcan; reconstruct three rooms with original furnishings and antiques, some Vulcan family dwelling; last room of the museum is organized mainly documentaries hall, but also offers exhibition elements: images of old printers Oradea and documents relating to the three series of wars „Familia” magazine, and the current series of the magazine – which has the he will.

Founder of the cultural magazine „Family” (1865), Joseph Vulcan (n. 1841 Holod, Bihor County – d. 1907 Oradea, Bihor County) was a lawyer, writer, poet, publicist, cultural animator, member of the Romanian Academy .

He was born in an old Greek Catholic family. His father, Nicolae Vulcan, was nephew of renowned scholar Bishop Samuil Vulcan, the founder of the school of Beius, which today bears his name.

Throughout life, wrote poetry („My Lira”, 1882), plays („Stefan Voda the Young”,  „Bride to Bride”), an important historical work („Roman Pantheon” 1869), short stories, novels and translations. On September 8, 1907, the great journalist dies and is buried at the cemetery in Oradea Olosig.

 

BISTRITA-NASAUD

 

  1. Ion Pop Reteganul Memorial House

Location: Reteag, Bistrita Nasaud County

In the  town Reteag, at  no. 24, is a cottage with porch, built in 1866 and converted into a museum in 1955. Built by folklorist Ion Pop Reteganul father, today the house accommodates some objects that belonged to this valuable scholar, editor of several journals Transylvania and founder of others, collected by customs, stories, folk songs etc.

Workspace austere ambiance of the former teacher is given a bed, desk, table, cabinets with books, mirror and chest. The exhibits books and articles written by him, driven publications or on which he collaborated, edited books at Gherla, files of correspondence taken, lesson plans, word, manuscript papers etc. With the present collection was reconstituted intellectual atmosphere of a country house in the mid nineteenth century.

Ion Pop-Reteganul (1853-1905) was an educator, novelist, journalist and folklorist, representative of his time and remained in the history of Romanian folklore as „the greatest folklorist of Transylvania” is appreciated praising the most prestigious scholars time: Alecsandri BP Hașdeu, I. Bianu, I. Urban Jarnik, Gustav Weigand, Nicolae Iorga.

For twenty years he worked as a teacher in the village for several counties (1873-1892), while being preoccupied with folklore collection in these areas.

He taught Romanian Academy 21 volumes in manuscript, following a commission to sort material for publication, but most will remain unpublished.

 

  1. Liviu Rebreanu Memorial House

Location: Prislop (Liviu Rebreanu), Bistrita Nasaud County

On the National Road 17 C, 5 km and 18 km from Bistrita Nasaud, Liviu Rebreanu Memorial House is in town Prislop which today bears the name of the writer. The memorial museum is housed in a farmhouse specific area, built in 1957, with support from locals and contributing writer Liviu Rebreanu wife and daughter.

The building was reconstructed on the site of the parental home in Prislop, the writer. The house includes objects that belonged to the writer: family photographs, editions of the writer’s work appeared in the country and abroad. Near the house, in a modern building, is an amphitheater for exposure and a book exhibition and fine art works.

The village is the birthplace of the great novelist Tarlisua, a small village „that on any map is not found, but still there”, in the words of the writer.

He moved later to the village Prislop (today Liviu Rebreanu), where he had the opportunity to know the Romanian peasant dreams and sufferings, lived with them and was deeply impressed.

Liviu Rebreanu lived in this house only a year, but has known many people who inspired him later in the novel „Ion”. It’s the house where he lived between heroes in the novel.

The house has three rooms. In the first, which was the kitchen, it only  remainend the family Rebreanu oven. There are many documents, photographs, quotes the writer about him and three of his works: „Ion”, „Forest of the Hanged” and „Rebellion” and quotes from other writers recounting Liviu Rebreanu. In the second room, there are exposed old and yellowed costumes worn by Ion Pop’s Glanetasu and Ana, wife of John, and other data about the writer’s novels. Even if the characters are real, the novel is mostly fiction. John died in 1935, but Ana lived until 1973, dying at 84 years. The two graves are near the church cemetery.

In the third room are exhibited objects and furniture that belonged to the teacher Vasile Rebreanu: wardrobe, mirror, work desk, sofa cushions ornamental table with four chairs and an ashtray on the table ever present writer.

The walls have many family pictures, but the tenants  are missing,  they  seem that they are out and must return.

Nearby, in the village center, is the vicarage, also a monument building where the priest Ion Belciug  lived from  the novel. The house is hard to go unnoticed because it is colorful, mosaic-clad yellow and blue.

The complex comprises a building which is still a big amphitheater and upstairs a book exhibition exhibits works by Liviu Rebreanu. The three major works that are shown in the memorial house were transposed to film, and his books have been translated into 37 languages. The novel „Ion” is edited also in Braille, and is believed to be the only museum in the country to have such a book.

Liviu Rebreanu in „I believe” said „not beautiful, human invention, interested in art, but the pulsation of life. When you managed to close in words a few moments of real life, you committed an opera rays more precious than all the world … And this house full truth proves his words.

When you see quotes and testimonies of the author, when you look inside the house and costumes worn by Ana and John, you realize the soul filed for writing his books, the experience of which every word was born. A known direct sufferings, desires, dramas lived by its heroes understood them and then put the to paper. His novels are a masterpiece. Feeling the soul but made in their writing, they gain another dimension and we, the readers of his novels and visitors of the memorial house, we realize the depth of feelings held by the author when he wrote.

 

  1. George Cosbuc Memorial House

Location: Nasaud, Bistrita Nasaud County

Organized in the house where he was born the great poet of the Romanian people, Memorial Museum „George Cosbuc” is an important landmark for romanian tourists, and lately also  by foreign people.

It is located in the center, a short distance from border guards covered bridge over the river Salauta.

Dating back to the eighteenth century (the building was constructed in 1840 by the poet’s father,  the priest Sebastian Cosbuc), the current museum is a monument of group A and was restored in 1954.

The exhibition includes objects belonging to the poet George Cosbuc (1886 – 1918): cradle, school desk and chair, cape, travel kits, manuscripts, editions of his work. The objects exhibited in these rooms exclusively are genuine.

As in any traditional Romanian house, the entrance is the porch. In the first room are exposed personal belongings of the poet and numerous books. In the second room can be viewed School benches, a shelf with works of the poet’s cape and hat, along with the usual furniture. The room houses a fragment of the more than 30.000 volumes in the library of George Cosbuc (both by number not representative, as the documentary value).

The following three halls host exhibitions about the life of poet, but also about the history of the institution that has a chance to be the first museum of Romanian literature in the country (1905), emblematic of the Romanian literary museography.

The Museum „Coșbuc” is the only museum dedicated exclusively  to the poet,  in Romanian Transylvania literary museology. The reason was primarily to gather and exhibit (part), photographs, documents, correspondence, editions and translations of the poet’s work.

The museum section, unincorporated Bistrita County Museum Complex. It was founded in 1905 on the initiative of Iuliu Moisil and Romanian literature is the first museum in the country.

 

BOTOSANI

 

  1. Mihai Eminescu Memorial House

Location: Village Ipotești, Botosani County

Mihai Eminescu Memorial House from Ipotești is a  memorial museum arranged in the house where the poet lived Mihai Eminescu (1850-1889) in the village Ipotești in Botosani County.

Memorial Ipotești – National Center for Research „Mihai Eminescu” is on the List of Historical Monuments in Botosani County in 2004, with the code BT-IVa-B-02047, which consists of two objectives:

  • Memorial House „Mihai Eminescu” – dating back centuries. XIX and having BT-IV code-m-B-02047.01
  • Eminescu family graves – dating back centuries. XIX and having BT-IV code-m-B-02047.02.

In 1850, the family George Eminovici bought a possession in the village Ipotesti, where it will build a house with outbuildings that can complete all the household of wealthy people. The house had three rooms: the family saloon, Eminescu’s father office and the bedroom poet mother and sisters. In this house lived the family Eminovici to 1878.

The poet mother, Raluca Eminovici, bought  with 250 ducats a family church, which dates back to the 60s of the nineteenth century from an Murgulet.

The place of worship is small, but accommodates valuables. Behind the little church are the graves of his parents (Raluca  and Gheorghe Eminovici) and his two brothers (Iorgu and Nicu).

After the death of Gheorghe Eminovici (1884), the house was not inhabited, and it goes to ruin. In a photograph from 1916  it’s noted the poor condition of the house, „slipped to the front porch pillars” due to „a slow subsidence and landslides.”

In 1924, the house where he grew Mihai Eminescu and remained uninhabited for years, had become a ruin.

At that time and the wooden church that Eminescu graves of his parents were „completely abandoned and covered with weeds …”, as recorded in 1926, Moldova Magazine- Botosani.

Because the Ipotești Eminovici family home was ruined,  estate owners Ipotești brake it down to the ground in the summer of 1924, prompting protests from students and Hebrew in Botosani Romanian against the demolition. Following these protests, Ipotești estate owner, Maria Papadopol, donated willingly the place where it was the Eminovici family home of Ipotești.

In 1934, the house was rebuilt on the same site, there was inaugurated in 1940 the first memorial museum dedicated to the great poet. This house does not respect the original structure, so that was demolished and rebuilt in 1979 after another original documents on the old foundation of the family home Eminovici. The house is furniture – partly original, partly from the second half of the nineteenth century.

In the memorial courtyard of Eminescu is a vintage cottage style Moldavian that belonged to the last owner of the estate Ipotești – doctor Papadopol. It has donated the house to the state. Now, here is the Museum of Ethnography of the National Centre for Studies from Ipotești,  being exposed objects from old homesteads. In this house Horia Bernea  painted his paintings during national camps Ipotești painting.

At 4 kilometers from the Memorial Ipotești is Baisa forest lake, inspired many poems by Mihai Eminescu.

Mihai Eminescu Memorial House from Ipotești can be visited every day (Monday to Sunday) between the hours 9-17 (May 15 to September 15) and 8-16 (September 16 to May 14).

 

  1. Nicolae Iorga Memorial House

Location: Botosani, Botosani County

On Nicolae Iorga Street, at no. 14, about 100 m from the Mihai Eminescu Boulevard and 1 km from the entrance to the city  Botosani, coming from Iasi, is the house where Iorga family lived between 1876-1880.

Of the 10 family homes changed history during his childhood and adolescence, is the only building that has been preserved from the nineteenth century, is attributed to Nicolae Iorga, since the interwar period, although Iorga family lived here as tenants.

Memorial House „Nicolae Iorga” is where it keeps a significant number of pieces of heritage value related to the personality of the illustrious historian Nicolae Iorga. Original photographs of his family’s Nicolae Iorga at different times of his life, Dr. Honoris Causa degrees from some famous schools in Europe (Sorbonne, Cambridge, Rome) and a large number of books written by Nicolae Iorga many in editions and newspapers and magazines that you edited and directed outlines the extraordinary size of one of the greatest personalities of Romanian and universal culture.

In the two rooms occupied by Zulnia Iorga and his two children, Nicholas and George, presents a reconstitution period. It is also an exceptional exhibition space which includes testimonies of life and activity. Basic collection contains pieces with special value: workroom contains the library that contains, among other things, first editions of the works of historical, literary signed by Nicolae Iorga, showcases memorial value: table clock, vase ornamental Viennese (belonged  to his grandfather) , family paintings, manuscripts belonging to his mother (Zulnia Iorga).

It was reorganized also children’s room (based on documentary work memoirs).

Here, the passion of reading that had the  eldest son – Nicholas – is suggested by a shelf with books, a writing table, a candle candlestick. Witness the first reading, this room also benefit from a detailed description of the great historical autobiographical book entitled „A human life as”.

The other two apartments are for a photo exhibition – documentary and a multi-purpose rooms where they are exposed first editions of his Nicolae Iorga.

The first of these is housed a historic library consisting of current book purchased in recent years.

Family saloon interior dating from the last decades of the last century, from a family with a modest income, but with a prosperous past, during which accumulated a number of goods, from his own fortune inherited from their families or taken from parents emanating history.

Photo exhibition – documentary collection includes manuscripts lobby, presented chronologically, beginning with the first school documents continuing period high school, university, country and abroad and ending with years of scholar’s full maturity.

The hall offers the possibility of organizing the photo-documentary exhibition temporary.

 

  1. George Enescu Memorial House

Location: Village Liveni, Botosani County

I come from Romanian parents and I was born in Liveni, Dorohoi, in the heart of Moldova … I lived in a small house with painted wooden porch, where the sun dried the ropes of onions. And now I see peasants in white shirts with blue holly as singing in twilight … This is truly my country and its image I took her with me.” This is how George Enescu confessed in his memoirs, out of the realm in places where he would conquer the world with his song charm, his violin, to his conducting baton.

Situated in the village Liveni, a short distance from Dorohoi, the  birthplace of the great composer, conductor, pianist and violinist George Enescu – small house with painted wooden porch, restored – 1968 hosts a museum that restores the atmosphere of the early years of his childhood.

Visitors have the opportunity to see his first toys (here are exposed a violin toy, a Santa Claus) kit colors and more designs made of baby George Enescu, various musical works, books and manuals childhood and the first years of his studies, along with the first upright piano compositions.

However, photographs and manuscripts complete the image of George Enescu time spent Liveni in his native village: original photos of parents, the house at Cracalia, property deeds belonging to Costache Enescu and musical scores of his youth and not artist lastly photographs that show him the great artist in the company of great musicians of the time, at home and in various European capitals.

In his parents’ home in Liveni, Enescu composed his first work for violin and piano, „Romanian Country” at the age of just 5 years.

Also in the parental home and wrote „Romanian Poem” in 1894.

The most famous work is „The Oedipus”, launched in Paris on March 13, 1936.

 

BRASOV

 

  1. Valer Pușcariu Memorial House

Location: Village Simon, Bran village, Brasov County

It is located in Brasov, Bran – where was born the distinguished son of Bran, as called Dr. Valer Pușcariu (1918 – 1982) – MD, Doctor of Medical Sciences, surgeon who has done exceptional honor to romanian medicine and place hometown.

 

BRAILA

 

  1. Dometie Manolache Memorial House

Location: Ianca, Braila County

The building was Dometie parent’s parental home.

Note that only two cameras are intended for display collections, with an exposed area of about 25 square meters. The museum holds collections of family photos of the parent, degrees in photocopied books on the life of Father, a priestly garment, icons and handicrafts.

Archimandrite Dometie Manolache (October 15, 1924 – July 6, 1975) was a great confessor and spiritual father of the twentieth century Romanian. It was, as Father Dumitru said Staniloae, a hero of the faith, the soul of a great holiness and purity.

Father Dometie  was born in the village Marculești in the mountains Panatau (Buzau) on 15 October 1924. It was the fourth of twelve children of godly parents and workers who raised him by the arms toil in the fear of God in listening and respecting the largest, with a sense of responsibility and work.

He graduated with outstanding results in Buzau Theological Seminary in 1945, in 1949 was declared a degree in theology.

He helped revive monastic life in Transylvania, who was in a flourishing condition as in Wallachia and Moldavia. Father Dometie life is closely linked to the congregation Ramet Monastery (in 1959 he was appointed father confessor ).

It was an outstanding theologian, father confessor, with outstanding skills household.

In addition to administrative and household, Father Dometie attached great importance to the study. In 1972 he enrolled in doctoral courses in theology at the Theological Institute in Bucharest, which he  finished with 10, one month before the end of his lightning.

Father Dometie  died on a Sunday, on July 6, 1975. In the speech delivered at his funeral,  Reverend Father Emilian Birdaș summarizes the spiritual personality „distinguished theologian, spiritual father, spirit high altar, a large landowner selfless capacity … and gave unceasingly devote to enrich, broaden and deepen in all his parishioners being fibers, self-giving awareness to the interests of Jewish leaders, for instance posing in abundance, as one who has burned all his life-giving idea itself … The most vivid and beautiful tribute that we can bring it to follow his promptings, especially the example of his life, after our powers. ”

 

  1. P. Perpessicius Memorial House

Location: Braila, Braila County

The old home of Stephen and Catherine Panaitescu family was built around 1880. Here was born (on October 21, 1891) and lived until the age of 19 years (autumn 1910, when he became a student at the Faculty of Philology modern University of Bucharest) Panaitescu S. Dumitru, who will later add Perpessicius pseudonym.

  1. Panaitescu Perpessicius will live in the parental home within September 1, 1920 – the summer of 1921, during which time he held the chair of Romanian and French Normal School in Braila.

Perpessicius’s return to Braila are few, the last in 1945.

In the family home will continue to reside until passing away, his mother, Catherine Panaitescu.

In 1971, after the death of Perpessicius, on the facade of the building in Castle Street 58, it was placed a commemorative plaque. Soon, the house was demolished, only recovering the commemorative plaque. The mistake was quickly directed, the building was rebuilt, but with modern materials.

Since 1977, the building is assigned the function of the museum.

Between 1993-1996, the body rebuilds annex building, purpose deposits.

In this space, on October 28, 1977, following a donation from his son, Dumitru D. Panaitescu donation consisting of books (791 in number), documents and furniture, opened in the Museum of Braila, „Permanent Exhibition with memorial character Dumitru Panaitescu Perpessicius „. The exhibition was organized in two halls: one photo-documentary, the two-chamber reconstitution Perpessicius’s work.

The year 1982 meant the acquisition of large parts of his library (7,000 books), to which were added collections of newspapers and magazines and a few other pieces of furniture. The house is closed after 1990, requiring repairs. On this occasion the body recover from the yard (room designed for warehouses and public relations) and kiosk. The yard is located in marble bust of Perpessicius, the work of sculptor Nica Petre. With the inauguration in 1994 of the new wing of the building was re-opened exhibition of „Dumitru Panaitescu Perpessicius”. He thought a reorganization of existing halls iconographic material and offered the public a third room, which showcases some of the manuscripts of Perpessicius.

The building is entered in the National List of Monuments, Ensembles and Sites, head. „Memorial Buildings”.

Perpessicius – Dumitru S. Panaitescu (b. October 21, 1891, Braila, d. March 29, 1971, Bucharest) was a literary critic and historian, folklorist, Romanian poet and essayist, researcher and editor of Eminescu’s work, member of the Romanian Academy.

It started with drawing „Caterpillar – From the world of crawling”, a replica of the volume from The world of which no word of Emil Gârleanu. The draft was signed with the pseudonym „Victor Pribeagu” and appeared in the magazine Braila flowers field, no. 5 of 20 July 1911.

He debuted as a poet with poetry reminiscent in „Lyrics and prose” of IM Nr.7-8 Rașcu in April 1913 signed with the pseudonym „D. Pandara „, a sort of anagram composed of his first name initial and last name of the father beginning, Pan (ait) and his mother Dara (ban).

He signed with the pseudonym „Perpessicius’ Chronicle (1915), led by  the magazine ruled by Gala Galaction and Tudor Arghezi.

Mobilized front, wounded in 1916 and remains enveloped by the right hand.

Teacher in several areas of the country, author of popular high school literature textbooks, developed with Al. Rosetti and Jacques Byck.

Collaborates on Word, Universe literary, Romania, Royal Foundations Magazine, Chronicle, Romanian nation, The Book of weather, Flame, Thinking, Mind Romanian, European Idea, Literary Gazette, Contemporary, Romanian Life, Literary Romania, Star; Chronic literary held at Radio from 1934 to 1938.

He was director general of the Academy Library, the Museum of Romanian Literature (1957) and Manuscriptum magazine.

 

  1. Panait Istrati Memorial House

Location: Braila, Braila County

Memorial House „Panait Istrati” is located in a building built in the late nineteenth century, for administrative purposes (home gardening). Fashion model fitting parks prompted the English, especially in the second half of the century. XIX, Edil concern for reorganizing space from Braila Public Garden, which involved the hiring of specialists. As a result, around 1860, in an area located on the north-east, are built: buffet, home gardening and greenhouses. On this site was built in neo-Romanian style, from the early twentieth century with the function being called home and home gardeners, the building known today as the Memorial House „Panait Istrati”. After 1947, the building retains its administrative purpose and is last in the administration sector „Green Spaces” Hall of Braila. Since 1984 hosts Memorial Exhibition „Panait Istrati”, opened on the occasion of the centenary of the writer (1884- 1984).

Although Panait Istrati did not live here,  the building has been attributed this destination as the author of Chiralina Chira  prefers house adjacent space for contemplation Danube and circumstances. In addition, none of the buildings he lived in Braila  was not preserved.

Here are capitalized exhibition manuscripts, excepts from newspapers and personal items, furniture, autographed books, rare editions, first editions, photographs, documents, objects that were purchased in bulk, the last wife of the writer, Margaret Istrati. Photo-documentary exhibition explains primitive social environment where it was born and lived his unhappy childhood.

In the second room are exposed all his manuscripts and books in various editions, such as „Chira Chiralina” (Paris and Bucharest, 1924), „Codin” (Paris, 1926), „(Paris, 1928, Bucharest, 1942), the latter achieving a beautiful and cinematic transposition a Romanian-French co-production, to

The third room contains furniture and numerous works of fine art including a bust of the writer. In the attic was organized fund study documenting the life and work of Stump, writer claimed two cultures: Romanian and French. The success of his work in France is owed the writer’s skill to use phrases from various Romanian media, this enchanting French reader who spotted with interest other than that of native literature.

Self-taught bohemian adventurer, wanderer, driven out of misery through three continents and discovered by chance by Romain Rolland, Panait Istrati (1884-1935) novelist came robust, less researched exploring social media, the world of slums and underworld, grafted on a ethnographic ancestral background. He led a miserable existence, always in search of work and always without money, health severely hit. It was still an optimist who loved life and art: „The beautiful, my religion, which includes all the beautiful moral values and that would give meaning to my life, supporting me in my many hours of perplexed when cornered by misery and powers often I wondered if he deserves so many sacrifices „.

 

  1. Moș Dumitru Memorial House

Location: Village Baldovinești, Braila County

Baldovinești, just a few kilometers from Braila, Galati road is his mother’s native village Panait Istrati (1884 – 1935), washerwoman arrived in town and father was a Greek smuggler. From his uncles, Anghel  and Dumitru, Panait Istrati made heroes of the novel. 30 years ago, based on these two characters who lived in reality in  Baldovinești, at the crossroads of routes to Galati, opened for remembrance, a memorial house and a restaurant.

 

The Memorial House was a  faithful copy of Dumitru uncle’s house, a cottage from the early twentieth century. They set furniture, carpets, loom, reel, deep drawers, chairs, photographs and books. In this house used to come in childhood  the writer Panait Istrati.

The restaurant was called „At Mos Anghel” after the pub of  the other famous uncle. A few years, this half museum, half worldly, cheerful and party enjoyed a great success.

Buses filled with students arriving every week to see how it looked box where he spent much of his childhood writer. And the restaurant had great fame and no lack of customers, especially near the road that is the only way to Galati road, because the road from the pier still there.

 

CALARASI

 

  1. Alexandru Sahia Memorial House

Location: Monastery, Calarasi County

The museum is in the parental home of writer Alexander Sahia (1908 – 1937), residential real estate until 1963, when it was sold by the brother of the writer for the establishment of the memorial house. The house was reopened to the public in 2002 after renovations that lasted several years. The four rooms are restored vintage interior intelligentsia representative of rural life in the first decades of the twentieth century: furniture, towels and rugs, folk pottery, kitchen, pantry with household tools. The exhibits also the writer’s library, newspapers and magazines in which the writer worked, documents and photos depicting his life. After graduating from primary school followed hometown, Alexandru Stanescu was enrolled in 1920 at the Military High School „Dimitrie Sturdza” in Craiova.

In 1926, Alexander Sahia debuted with  literary sketch „Sculptor Boamba” published in the „Hawks”, published by the Military High School „Michael the Brave” in Targu-Mures, where scores era under the name Alexander G. Stanescu. The Falcons, signed with the pseudonym Al Sahia. Manastireanu, named after his village Monastery of Ilfov County. Misfit soldierly life in 1927 left the Military School, and in 1928 gave the baccalaureate. He enrolled in the law school of the University of Bucharest. Unable to adapt any university life, so that in 1929 entered the monastic life and became a monk at Cernica Monastery. Less than a year after he retired to the monastery and convent. Beginning in 1931 and until 1937 – the year of death – Sahia was known journalist published in newspapers and magazines of the time: Rampa, Flare, Morning, Today, Open Word, the Truth and New Era.

In 1932 he founded two publications even ephemeral, blue blouses and new age. Write reports and, after a visit to the USSR in 1935, Soviet achievements praise, which appreciated by the Soviets, who need to present a positive image of the Soviet Union in the Western world. From him it remains opera „USSR today,” one of the few books of Romanian writers about the USSR. A year before his death Sahia joined the Romanian Communist Party (PCR). He died at only 29 years as a result of untreated tuberculosis. In 1946, after taking political power in Romania, PCR turned into a hero of the working class. The fact that he died of tuberculosis officials allowed biographers write that comes from poor peasants. It was actually the son of a wealthy farmer, who became mayor in common to liberal.

 

CLUJ

 

  1. Matei Corvin Memorial House

Location: Cluj Napoca, Cluj County

Descending from the center, on a street with medieval aspect which now bears the name of Matei Corvin, the place where it widens gaze is drawn to a high house, with simple geometry, with Gothic and Renaissance elements, recognized as the oldest Renaissance palace and the only secular building in Cluj-Napoca. The building was built in the XIV century, it is located inside the first precinct of the old fortress belonging defense. Gothic style building, the house Matei Corvin has undergone various changes over time and adapting to new styles. In the first half of the sixteenth century it was introduces several architectural renaissance. At the end of the nineteenth century, being in an advanced state of decay, was restored, introducing an number of specific items 1900s style.

It was restored again in 1940 by architect Kos Karoly, and then in the communist era were eliminated many of the amendments of the 1900 Memorial House „Matei Corvin” has had many uses over time. First belonged to a wine merchant, then became inn. In 1740 it was purchased by the city of Cluj, fulfilling other purposes, such as prison or hospital barracks. Shortly after, the backbone of the northern part of the building was damaged by an explosion in the ammunition depot. At the beginning of sec. XX, House Transylvanian Carpathian Society Museum housed one of the finest museums in Transylvania at the time, dedicated tourism, ethnography and balneologists. Here it was exhibiting a collection of over 7,000 objects, including pottery, embroidery, farming tools, ports, rural household items. Two of the rooms of the building were designed in the  memory of Matei Corvin, being  exposed the 7 models that competed in the 1894 competition for the realization of the statue of Matei Corvin. More than 2,000 volumes of the collection had been donated by Professor Otto Hermann. Museum functioned until 1935.

After the Second World War, the building housed for  a period  a college, and then the University of Art and Design which uses it in the present moment. In 1996 a plaque was installed in Romanian and English. Meanwhile, the house was renovated and equipped with central heating and a ventilation system. Until recently, in its cellars, which stretch all over the building, they could be seen brackets old wine barrels. The house did not belong actually  to the family of Matei Corvin. The man who would later become King of Hungary,Iancu de Hunedoara’s son, great prince of Transylvania and governor of Hungary, was born at the inn in this house when his mother, Elizabeth, passing through town, stopped here, staying with the  baby for a  few months.

 

COVASNA

 

  1. The first Romanian school Sf. Gheorghe

Location: St. Gheorghe, Covasna County

First Romanian School’s  building is in the  National Museum of Eastern Carpathians patrimony and was occupied for several years by gypsies and is returned  to  the Museum until 2006, after Orthodox Diocese of Covasna and Harghita built in just 7 days a house who moved the  two gypsies families occupying abusive School. First Romanian School from Sf. Gheorghe  was documented in 1799 and was identified based on documentary sources of  the archives Three Chairs County Department of National Archives Covasna and  the documents held in the archives of churches. The history of this school is closely linked to the history of the Romanian church in the area, taking into being under its wing, which explains that the first teachers were mostly priests.

Before completing the building, the  school classes were held in the Customs House of  Dants Ioan and according to the documents „Orthodox religious school of Sf. Gheorghe was attended by Orthodox and Protestants alongside Catholics” being considered a good school. Orthodox religious school operated until 1873, when it was closed and students next year Romanian Orthodox home state attended schools in Hungarian utility. During 1930-1940, the Sf. Gheorghe  Hall decision, „land in front of the church and denominational school was arranged that park,” and the school building inhabited by different tenants.

Since 1960, the former Orthodox denominational schools functioned school for gypsies, in 1966 the property being tabulated in favor of the Romanian state in the operative management of the City of Enterprise Management Sf. Gheorghe and then rented by two families in the area.

 

  1. Benedek  Elek Memorial House

Location: Batanii Mici, Covasna County

The museum was founded in 1969 in the house where lived  the publicist and writer Benedek Elek (1859 – 1926) and displays a collection of objects related to the life and work of writer’s furniture, original documents and photocopies, printed copies of his books . Among the exhibits is the memorial house and testified: „I did read a collection of stories of Ispirescu, thinking it translated into Hungarian. These stories are not only beautiful but are also proof positive that both the Romanian storyteller soul and of the Hungarian was made much kinship of mind. But this is, in our case, the most important thing: Roman told Hungarian, Hungarian novel, and here the story done brotherhood. „On a wall in the same house memorial is written in Romanian and Hungarian, quote:” State Language you need to learn native language you may not forget. ”

 

DOLJ

 

  1. Henri Catargi Memorial House

Location: Scaești, Dolj County

The exhibition opened in the former house of the painter Henri Catargi(1894 – 1976) presents his works, mainly landscapes and still life.

He was born on December 6, 1894 in Bucharest and followed first Faculty of Law at the Sorbonne in France. In parallel, between 1919 – 1922, he studied painting at the Academy Julian in Paris and at the Ranson Academy under the direction of Maurice Denis, Edouard Vuillard, Felix Vallotton and Roger Bissau, working in workshops led by Andre Lhote and Marcel Gromaire. In his training he made several reproductions of Poussin’s works exhibited at the Louvre.

His early works are mainly still  landscapes austere, the depth of space settlement plans and trying to achieve a three-dimensional effect in the spirit of the new realism of the 20s. He was concerned, during the 20s, especially color, although addressed was limited to the colors brown and white ocher, including a wide range of grays, green and red. He gave up then, after 1930 the chromatic asceticism for a sober and discreet lyricism based on warm tones. The color is not completely hide the outline painting. He made numerous drawings and sketches in ink, watercolor and pencil (part of sketches were found at the Henry Memorial Museum from Scaesti, now being in custody at  Craiova Art Museum).

Throughout life, Henri Catargi created numerous drawings and sketches in ink, watercolor and pencil, and in the last period of life, gouaches with a fresh color.

During the artistic activity, participated in numerous exhibitions masts personal and group, both at home and abroad, his works being exhibited at Bucharest and Moscow, Belgrade, Prague, Berlin, New Delhi, Cairo, London and Tokyo. The artist who is known especially for his landscapes and depictions of female figures passed away in 1976, in Bucharest.

 

  1. Manor Cernatescu

Location: Cernațești, Dolj County

Along Manor is found Petrache Cernatescu’s  school – initiator of teaching and founder of the school Cernatesti  in 1837.

Traditional items hundred years old are found in the museum arranged inside Cernatesti collected. The building was built in the sixteenth century, having then for defense. In the building are certain places in which you can see outside, without anyone seeing you outside.

The building has been renovated several times by local government, and in 1972 became a museum and historical monument while exposing parts of archaeological, historical, documentary, ethnographic. The main front has two inputs, a folding door to massive oak staircase rises to the first floor and another as massive and skillful bolted to narrow cellar with battlements.

Downstairs old tools and objects are displayed on the main occupations of the inhabitants of the villages of the commune: agriculture, apiculture, sheep breeding.

On the first floor are presented fossils of animals that lived in the area with 1-5 million years ago and especially objects and documents evidencing the uninterrupted presence of humans in these lands. Here we find the first mention of the name Cernatesti written in a document from  Michael the Brave, 1597.

On the second floor inside was rebuilt a farmhouse with original objects donated by the children of the village and especially the family Pârvulescu. Vatra with turtles, some earthen vessels, round table around which are placed a few chairs, a rug and pillow dating from the early years of last century, a loom with which women of different luggage Cernatesti once wore head are just some of the objects in the museum established enshrined by the  Pârvulescu family.

Appearing as cultural heritage value of national historic monument enjoys the attention of the County Department for Culture, Cults and National Patrimony Dolj. Cernatesti Manor is in a relatively good state of preservation due to repairs and maintenance in the last 20 years, works financed with funds of local government and with money donated by city hall last progeny family in Belgium. Last descendant of the nation Cernatesti, Maria Ioana Cernatesti, donated the museum and the village church by 40,000 lei, money coming from the sale of paintings signed by her. Some of the paintings he donated to the museum.

 

  1. Traian Demetrescu Memorial House

Location: Craiova, Dolj County

Traian Demetrescu Memorial House is also a living being that  has a story. About it you  can write a novel: how was born, lived or survived as those he protected from weathering and age. In a November night even the date of birth of the  poet, could fall prey to the flames of a fire that engulfed a neighboring house which was affixed. Street and number on which the building is situated were changed several times during weather: Targului 43, Stalingrad 41, Silozului 13, Emperor Trajan 13 and now, Traian Demetrescu 31.

In 1950 it was nationalized and in 1966, at  the celebration of the centenary of the poet became Demetrescu Traian Memorial House room with objects belonging to the poet, kept devoutly sister Victoria Popescu (born Demetescu) who became curator of the Memorial House.

Reconstituted in 1966, enriched with valuable pieces and documents of literature Traian Demetrescu Memorial House comprising covering a rich thematic documents related to the family, childhood and school years, paintings parents, grandparents, brothers and sisters, teachers, the poet, copy of the study and so on. Another part of the permanent exhibition covers the years of apprenticeship, literary debut (1833-1888) with his first poems published, copies of magazines where the poet published his first volume of poems, excerpts from letters, as well as years of affirmation, of consecration, illness and end of life.

The earthquake of 1977 caused some damage, requiring moving museum objects for repair. After repairs in 1978, the objects were returned to the museum, but some of them stray. The visit program was not a regular one. Since 1980, the ground floor was headquartered company amateur painters „Constantin Brancusi”. After 1990 the building received minor repairs, rent a publishing the floor and the ground floor and basement galleries have served for a while „Vollard”. In 1995 all the museum objects were moved to the Museum of Oltenia, where he is now.

The building in Craiova from street Traian Demetrescu no. 31 is entered in the list of monuments, complexes and sites in Dolj county as a memorial building. Since 2002, the building is managed by the Culture House „Traian Demetrescu” public cultural institution Local Council and Municipality of Craiova. The building has been strengthened and rehabilitated through the United Nations Development Programme, project „Beautiful Romania” project, which aimed to rehabilitate heritage buildings and public utility owned by local authorities.

 

  1. Elena Farago Memorial House

Location: Craiova, Dolj County

In the center of Craiova, in the same yard with the  headquartered County Library „Alexandru and Aristia Aman” A  is the house that lived  the poet Elena Farago,  a brilliant representative of the Romanian literature and cultural life  from Craiova, founding member of the Romanian Writers’ Society (1909).

Over the decades it has led the this place of worship, Elena Farago lived and created in  the house which today houses a part of the legacy this allowed the Romanian cultural nation.

 

As a tribute to the poet’s work was held in the house in which she  lived a permanent exhibition that includes 396 exhibits: original documents, photocopies, family photos, letters, furniture, personal items, books and magazines, annually visited by hundreds of children.

From the memorial house, called the small house, a place intended for library’s employees, currently opened  only for visiting the entrance hall and the room where  the poet operate fiction. After passing the old wooden doors of the entrance hall you get to keep the windows of books by poet right and left are displayed in the window of originals or copies of documents that testify to the fact that Elena Farago was a known personality of its time: a copy of the grant of the International Prize „Femina” „Femina du Comitee franco-roumain,  a Madame Farago, pour son livre Les murmures du Crepuscule” in 1924, the National Prize for Literature (1938), the medal „Bene Merenti” grade I, the proposal of the Minister of Public Instruction and Cults, Nicolae Iorga and” Order of Cultural Merit „Knight II class for letters and literary works granted in September 1931 by King Charles II.

Alongside the paintings that adorn the walls of the family hall is framed letters from the poet Elena Farago from personalities of the time, professional colleagues, relatives and friends. In pride of place is the letter received from nephew and the writer poet Geo Bogza.

The first door on the right is the gate to the world of poetic magic that has devoted most of his writings children. It is a narrow room in the center, Elena Farago bench. On the table are the objects devoid of a writer: typewriter, an inkwell, a blotting instrument related sheets and an old book of poetess.

Bookshelves are always present in the room and some items bearing the owner’s fingerprints still enchants the visitor’s eye: a clock stopped at 7 free minutes, one media candles, matches, napkins and jewelry, a radio that can still be used and several other large objects with sentimental value from friends loved poet. The walls are adorned with family paintings, many depicting an even Elena Farago alone or together with their two children. Above the bed is a self-portrait of the poet, and the small table by the window is a painting that depicts Francis Farago, her husband.

On leaving the room stays open as if inviting visitors to leave a trace of their presence there impressions book.

 

  1. Amza Pellea Memorial House

Location: Bailești, Dolj County

Amza Pellea Memorial Hous was opened in Bailești in August 2008, a year in which commemorated 25 years since the death of  the actor. Mayor Bailești put hand to hand with the locals and without government support, built this memorial house. The area we visit is not very high, comprising two rooms (bedroom and office) and a lobby. In each room are photographs, paintings, diplomas and objects reminiscent of Nea Marin. Amza Pellea (1931 – 1983) remains one of the most important Romanian actors, with a fascinating career in theater and film. He remained in the public consciousness by memorable roles such as the Prince Michael the Brave or that of Nea Marin. In 1977 he was rewarded for his portrayal Manlache Preda of „Doom” with the award for „Best Actor” in the International Film Festival in Moscow. Nea Marin remained a plea for saving virtue of humor. A character that is not boring, it’s redundant, does not repeat itself, but is invented every sketch, black and white changed given the small screen in a time of sad remembrance. He was on top of her and taunted her understanding, when sweet, when bitter. Sergiu Nicolaescu says Nea Marin is a role created by Amza Pellea, an actor who can not be replaced, „Amza able to play anything.” Amza Pellea interpreted historical characters (Vladica Hariton from „Tudor Vladimiri” by Mihnea Gheorghiu, Voivod Basarab „Tailors princes of Wallachia” Al. Popescu, the roles of „Tudor”, „Uprising”, „Outlaws”, ” Dacia „,”Column „,” Michael the Brave „) and contemporary characters (Ailinicii from 58 Seconds „by Dorel Dorian, Manole in “Sleepy adventure ” by T. Mazilu), and universal characters from the classic repertoire (Esteban from „”Fountain herds”  by Calderon, Horace from „Hamlet” , Platonov from  „A provincial Hamlet” by Chekhov). Gold Promotion Representative of Romanian theater.

Amza Pellea played at the National Theatre in Craiova, Small Theatre Nottara Theatre, Comedy Theatre and National Theatre. Between March 22, 1973 – September 24, 1974 was Director of the National Theatre in Craiova.

„Amza loved life and people and love generously donated. Today, after 25 years it is no longer on this earth is answered in kind: with love, „said the daughter of the famous actor, actress Oana Pellea.

„It’s very important today when values ​​are reversed when there is no time for remembrance, to have quality people also feel a duty to honor the memory of a son … It is quite normal that in the circumstances is a rarity! ” added the daughter of Amza Pellea.

 

” In the first place I wish to thank mayor Costel Pistrițu, without which the dream did not become reality. Thank to everyone who helped in this initiative, without which Amza did not have a place of remembrance in Bailești. And it would have been a shame! Thank you for bow made with love to the memory of Amza Pellea. Can you step Bailești via a threshold modest but where you will meet with his image with his voice, with his spirit. And where you can light a candle for his soul beautiful. For all these thank you „, concluded Oana Pellea.

 

  1. Manor Poenaru

Location: Almaj, Dolj County

Manor Poenaru (fortified house) is part of the buildings – the landowners property seized in the eighteenth century / XIX century to protect the Turkish incursions armed detachments crossing the Danube established the Ottoman Empire starting in barracks in Northern Bulgaria. With time, vesicles lost defensive vocation, becoming their owners, a sign of belonging to the class of large landowners. It was built in 1764 Barbu Poienaru marshal near the church that raised it in the heart of the village. By 1844 Manor also had a floor with one room and verandah on wooden pillars, but the fire in 1844 burned was not restored. Amended in 1896, it was donated to the City Hall Manor and in 1904 a school was installed here.

It has a rectangular shape, with the ground floor, hallway and a room lit by four large windows high. In the great hall of the old fortified towers, on the ground floor, is there a point communal museum that preserves the archaeological museum pieces, historical, documentary, ethnographic. The dome is covered with rear camera on each side that are under stucco medallions, which were painted in the middle of Aesop’s fables, seasons and allegorical figures. The intersection between the dome and rear edges is underlined by narrow profiles with plant motifs. Poenaru Manor is in a relatively good state of preservation due to repair and maintenance works that have occurred over the last 20 years.

 

GALATI

 

  1. Costache Negri Memorial House

Location: Costache Negri,  Galati County

In common Costache Negri (Manjina), located next to the city council is the  Memorial House „Costache Negri”. Interiors family mansion that belonged to the great writer, politician and patriot Romanian Costache Negri. It was built in the style of an evolved type farmhouses, with two porches on wooden pillars.

The house (mansion) was where forty-eighter generation leaders met often before 1848 to discuss the principles that have sustained then the program documents of the revolution of that year.

Amfitrion particularly Costache Negri managed to create its guests a hospitable atmosphere and thus their meetings, especially on 21 May, became a cultural tradition preserved even today Galați.

This building was declared a historical monument in 1943, when it was decided and turning it into a museum. This was achieved in 1968 and the current organizational formula was inaugurated on 21 May 1986. When pounding the museum, visitors enter in a specific era Negri’s atmosphere, even familiar, thanks exhibits memorial value. In the seven exhibition halls are found pieces of furniture and decorative art from renowned European styles that were fashionable in the salons of the period Boyar; paintings, photographs and documents relevant to the life and work of Costache Negri, family and collaborators. Among the names of speaking literally or figuratively, cultural property is exposed, along with family members: Mihail Kogalniceanu, Nicolae Balcescu, Alecsandri, Alexandru Ioan Cuza, etc. Thus, it can charge more consistent environment in which the spirit manifested forty-eighter, the unionist and how they have resulted in a century (XIX) in a world connected to Romanian European civilization. The house of Costache Negri in Galati is a plaque with the following: „In this house lived Costache Negri, chief magistrate of Galati, militant ideas of the 1848 Revolution and the struggle for union”. In front of the memorial house on 19 May 1973, was unveiled bust of Costache Negri, Boris Leonov realized in stone.

Negri family descended from nobility middle Moldovan before the middle of the seventeenth century and owned property and land in the provinces Tecuci Covurlui.

Mihai Eminescu defined Costache Negri as „one of the noblest men of Romanians, which is not only the cleanest most disinterested patriotism and character, but also an extraordinary ability, which we owe in large part, all documents large committed in the history of Romanians „.

 

GIURGIU

 

  1. Naum Gellu Memorial House

Location: Comana, Giurgiu County

Located in the town of Comana, Memorial House „Gellu Naum” is actually a summer house  of the surrealist poet,  and is kept as it was when Gellu Naum spent summers here.

This place was for the writer’s own creative universe in a withdrawal, isolation from external social and political context of the era (1968).

The whole building is composed of two parts: the cultural foundation space and accommodation rooms.

 

Professor of Philosophy, translator of the need to earn a living (Diderot, Stendhal, Hugo, Dumas, Jules Verne, Gracq, Prévert, Char, Kafka, Beckett), Gellu Naum (1915-2001) remains one of the great writers of the Surrealist Romania. His writings Universe branded surgical clarity in the midst of absurdity. Singular poetic universe and the force of his talent will bring a well-deserved, but late recognition.

Since 1990 he is invited to give public lectures in Germany, France, the Netherlands and Switzerland. His work is translated into major foreign languages at prestigious publishers, being crowned with prizes. In 1995 it was for one year DAAD scholarship in Berlin.

 

GORJ

 

  1. Gheorghe Zamfir House Museum

Location: Curtișoara, Gorj County

Since famous pipe player Gheorghe Zamfir mother hails from the town Hurezani, local authorities have decided to decorate a house museum within which tourists can see objects belonging to the artist. As a result, in May 2010, in the presence of the artist, opened Museum House „Gheorghe Zamfir” is arranged in the Museum Folk Architecture Curtișoara, located near Targu Jiu.

The house museum is composed of two rooms, one of which is fitted an old farmhouse kitchen, the other being exposed objects that the artist donated Gorj County Museum.

So, inside the house museum are found disc which Gheorghe Zamfir has taken over time, and pan flutes- artist sang with various scenes or clothing with which he has performed in major cities worldwide. Also on the walls are exhibited photographs and paintings in which different Gheorghe Zamfir appears alone or with various artists who sang along time.

In addition, copies of artist’s books during his career are exposed in the house named Gheorghe Zamfir, house visitors can also see some of the paintings,  painted by the artist and exhibited in various galleries in the past.

„There is no more beautiful memories, all are beautiful, there is a less beautiful, all life is a memory. The life of an artist who has wandered far and wide in the world for five decades and a half to cross the Earth at least ten times, from side to side, leading Romanian song  to other nations, is unforgettable. Three days ago I was in Switzerland, a country in which I launched in 1967 at Lausanne, Zamfir broke out there in the world, and the Swiss showed me that I forgot, telling me that the audience was vitaminizing for weeks to come „, said Zamfir at the inauguration of the memorial house.

Inside the house museum can be found including albums published in the West, which, in their time, have had record sales when Madonna launched or Michael Jackson.

 

  1. The house of Cartienilor-Cartiu

Location: Turcinești, Gorj County

An old XVIII century house, built on the right bank of the river Cartior and turned into a museum of folk stirs controversy among connoisseurs both the architectural style and the origin of the family who construit – Cartianu it and possessed it until 1975 , when the Communists were „bought” on a price of nothing, giving out the owners.

Proof that it is a monument of great value is that in 2000 was inscribed in law, historical monuments of exceptional national value and its model is exposed in the lobby of the Institute of Architecture „Ion Mincu” from Bucharest.

Cartianu House, located in the village Cartiu  of commune Turcinești    was built by Ceaușu Cartianu as

we know offspring who do not know the real name, courier is actually the function had it (as were appointed civil servants medieval Romanian Land and Moldova). It was inherited by one of the sons courier, Cartianu Enache, who left it on any of his sons, Nicholas, who bequeathed his son on Tudorica. The latter had, after multiple pressures to sell the state in 1975, with nearly 100,000 lei, the price which at the time could buy an apartment in Targu Jiu. In this way, the house became the property of noble families Gorj County Museum. Then they were lost and many pieces of furniture out of the building to restore its works have otherwise been abandoned by the Communists resumed after 1989 and completed in 1997.

Particularly compared to other antique buildings Oltenia and specific churches, the walls are covered with frescoes in tow, goat hair and lime. The restoration project was made by prof. Dr. Virgil Polizu, president of the National Commission of Monuments, paying particular attention to the porch perimeter that surrounds the entire building, giving it a distinct volumes.

The architect Julian Camui, known throughout the country for restoration work which has led, says he left, probably from a core of cula, dark halls, which were built after influential Albanian porches, building changing its  destination in the fortification mansion, especially missing some elements, such as the fountain in the house, which appears in vesicles, besieged because they do not have to surrender because of thirst. The saying his followers are confirmed Cârțienilor, Maria, daughter of Tudorica Cartianu, declaring our porches that were built in the nineteenth century: „porches were made after 1821 with Albanian workers, and they were restored were constructed so that it does not see any difference between the materials, the date and time patina to not show a discrepancy between wood 200 years ago and was used at restoration. ”

The feast their godchildren received all at once, which only took place in the big room at the entrance and the door was open, the greater their country and the common people. Here George Tatarescu practice their speeches, looking into a large mirror upstairs, there came King Charles II, who was a friend of Nicholas Cartianu. Also, board doorstep cula Barbu Stefanescu-Delavrancea and Cela Delavrancea.

 

  1. Tudor Vladimirescu  Memorial House

Location: Vladimir village, Gorj County

Located in the south-eastern county of Gorj, on the left bank of Gilortului,  at 50 km from Tg-Jiu and 25 km from Tg-Carbunești,the commune  Vladimir is mentioned after  the administrative reform of 1968, Andreești villages, Frasinul, Vladimir and  Desului Valley, with a total of 4260 inhabitants and an area of 62,1kmp.

Here in 1780, the freeholders parents (and Ioana Constantin) was born Tudor Vladimirescu, completing the family of 3 kids (Papa, Constandina and Tudor). After acquiring the rudiments of reading and writing from the village priest Pārvu Ciuhoi, Tudor continues his studies in Craiova, with the support of boyar John Glogoveanu. Once you become a famous drover, Tudor receives from the ruler of Romanian Constantin Ipsilanti, the charge of forming a volunteer corps to defend the irregular troops of the Ottoman invasions Oltenia.

Soon it is called the Great Commission, foreman at Cloșani realm (County), then large sluger. Between 1806-1812, participating in Russo-Turkish war, the Russian officer with the rank of lieutenant and decorated by Russian Czar Alexander, the Order of St. Vladimir the sword. Being a refugee in Vienna knows the Count Capodistria, the Russian foreign minister and leader of Eteria (secret organization fighting for the independence of Greece).

Revolution of 1821 organized  and led by Tudor Vladimirescu begins on 23 January with the  reading  of Proclamations known Padeș, and continues to strengthen monasteries in northern Oltenia (Tismana, Motru, Strehaia) and the organization training camp Tantareni.

On 4 March Tudor arrives to Slatina with 6000 footmen and 2000 horsemen on March, on  16 March in Bolintin enter with the army, and on 21 March fight install their camp at Cotroceni. In April 1821, under the heading ‘Applications Romanian people „know the true Tudor Revolution program, and to protect the country from Turkish occupation, trying to get hetaerist withdrawal.

On 15 May, Tudor organized raising camp in Bucharest by ordering the withdrawal of northern Oltenia.

In memory of Tudor Vladimirescu in 1932 through the efforts of the National League of Romanian Women in Gorj, led by Arete Tatarescu, was inaugurated the memorial house in his native village, Vladimir. Country House with wooden porch and two small rooms furnished with specific offers the visitor the beginning of the nineteenth century objects and documents related to the life of the revolutionary leader in 1821, Tudor Vladimirescu.

 

  1. Constantin Brancusi Memorial House

Location: Village Hobița, Peștișani commune, Gorj County

Hobița village (commune Peștișani) lies in the north-west county of Gorj, on the road linking the city to the locality Tismana Jiu Fair. Ancient fireplace housing, Hobița appears in documents dating from the sixteenth century under the name of Ohabita. Certainly, the settlement is older than princely act attesting the existence on 30 April 1518 in Bucharest given act of the prince of Wallachia, Neagoe Basarab, his Dațco and brother Michael, who bought ocina in several villages, including the Ohabita . Great Geographic Dictionary of Romania noted that in 1900, Hobița was a hamlet gifted with two wooden churches, 140 hectares of oak forest, which favored the development of wood processing.

The destiny of this humble settlements with skilled people was marked by the son of this village, who knew his mind and hands to turn a page in the history of modern art: Constantin Brancusi. He was born on 19 February 1876 in the family of Nicolae Radu and Maria Brancusi, who dealt with agriculture, wood processing (carpentry) and cattle breeding.

The great sculptor will be taught the village craftsmen, first from his father and grandfather, wood carving prowess which in his hands becomes life. In Hobița, everywhere, Brancusi had his trade milestones for Lifetime sculpture: the beautifully adorned houses, the old wooden church with shingled notched and supported by pillars that evoke Obârșia future columns Infinite and the village cemetery, the triptychs and flowery crosses.

The workmen were everywhere; they always combined skill builders decorators talent. Eager to know the world, that drew him to 11 years runs away from Targu-Jiu, then in Slatina and Craiova, where at 22 years old, graduated in only four years instead of five, School of Arts and Crafts passing away Belle Arte in Bucharest, as in 1904 to go on foot to Paris, where he worked for a while in the studio of the famous Auguste Rodin.

In 1914 he has first personal exhibition in New York, followed by the most prolific stage of his creation, and fame and influence on sculpture in the world is constantly increasing.  His life ends at 81 years in Paris with bitterness as he was not allowed to review once more the land. Of the 204 works of sculptor C. Brancusi little longer in the country (in Targu-Jiu, Craiova, Bucharest and Buzau), most of which is prevalent worldwide in the largest museums and collections.

 

  1. Ion Popescu Voitești Memorial House

Location: Simon Village, Bran, Gorj County

Architectural monument built in 1941 (Arch. Julius Doppelreiter)  the house accommodates exhibits (books, manuscripts) evoking activity geologist and professor Ion Popescu-Voitești (1876-1944) and a collection of mollusks and paleontology.

Ion Popescu Voitești was born on 18 November 1876  in Voitești village, town Balanești, Gorj County. After attending primary school in his native village,  he is attending high school „Carol I” in Craiova. He is a student of the Faculty of Science, Department of Natural Sciences, University of Bucharest, between the years 1895-1898.

In June 1910 supports in  Paris  the doctoral work entitled „Contributions to the study of stratigraphic Numuliticului Getic Depression”. It was distinguished by a creative activity in education and science. He organized the Institute of Geology and Paleontology of the University of Cluj, founding here geological and mineralogical museum magazine in order to spread new Romanian science abroad.

Professor of the Faculty of Geology of Cluj and Bucharest,  he led Geological Institute and he  founded the Academy of Sciences and has supported over 140 papers at congresses of geology at home and abroad. As a reserve officer, Voitești participated in the 1913 campaign, was wounded in battles at Turtucaia, then took an active part in the war of 1916 to 1918, reaching the rank of major. Tasked to increase oil production and find a new solid salt (from the Targu Ocna is in direct artillery) he indicated the deepening of oil wells from Moinești and Solonț (which led to increased output of ten cars per day) and found massive salt from Sarata -Bacau.

 

Ion Popescu Voitești has devoted his entire life in research of  romanian soil structure, the analysis of geological past of housing discovering how mineral wealth. Also, along tectonic synthesis of the Carpathians, paleontological evolution of Romanian soil was the most important part of his work. The great scientist was not limited to teaching and laboratory, but was constantly in the field, the research, along with his students.

Witness stand documentary photographs, manuscripts and objects that are located at the former home of Balanești, Voitești village, where he retired after retirement. In fact, all his life he was proud of its origin, evidence that has added native village name to name. Moreover, he left here for posterity, a real paleontological and mineralogical collection. On 4 October 1944, the heart of him who so loved the earth stopped beating while he was in the middle of nature.

 

  1. Ecaterina Teodoroiu Memorial House

Location: Targu-Jiu, Gorj County

The house where was born Ecaterina Teodoroiu (1894- 1917) is located in Targu-Jiu, DN 66 Targu Jiu- Petrosani. Built in 1884 by Catherine’s parents,  the country house accommodates two rooms, one room with fireplace and sleeping. In front of the house lies on the west side porch. The roof is made of mesh. In 1938 the family home Toderoiu was designed as a memorial house „Ecaterina Teodoroiu“  from the desire to keep alive the memory of the consciousness of new generations of Jiu heroine who sacrificed for the country in the First World War. Photos, documents and personal objects of lieutenant Ecaterina Teodoroiu  faithfully reconstructs the atmosphere in which he lived was called „Heroine from Jiu”.

A monument dedicated  to Ecaterina Teodoroiu was raised in Targu Jiu in 1935-1936, as a stone sarcophagus carved in low relief by Milita Petrașcu and located in the center of Targu-Jiu between City Hall and the Orthodox Cathedral dedicated to „St. Archangels Michael and Gabriel”. In 1976 it was placed in Targu-Jiu a statue of Ecaterina made by Iulia Onița. Monuments were raised  in honor of Ecaterina in Braila and Slatina.

To honor her heroism and patriotism heroine’s name from Jiu  is proudly borne by one of the most prestigious educational institutions in the city of Targu-Jiu, National College „Ecaterina Teodoroiu”.

 

HARGHITA

 

  1. László Tompa Memorial House

Location: Odorheiu Secuiesc, Harghita County

In this house in the immediate vicinity of the medieval fortress „Székely Támadt”  had lived from 1920- 1964 Tompa László (1883-1964), the great poet, editor and literary translator.

His memory is kept alive by Haáz Rezső Museum, recently refurbished in his old house a room with his personal items with artwork that depicts and information boards. The permanent exhibition presents documents and works of the poet activity.

Born in 1883, in the town Betfalva, László Tompa makes its secondary studies in Cristuru Secuiesc Unitarian College, then in Sibiu. Between 1902 and 1907 he was student of the Law Faculty of the University of Cluj. After 1907, he held various positions in administration, becoming in 1918 – after he gave specialty exam – main archivist of the county Odorhei.

In 1919 he was released from his position, dedicating itself  exclusively throughout the lifetime of literature. His first poems were published in 1918 in magazines Zord Ido and  Székelyföld, then became collaborator of prestigious journals as Ellenzek, Pásztortűz, Erdélyi Helikon. It is a member Erdélyi Helikon literary circle and the Transylvanian Literary Society. His poetry is characterized by discipline male propensity for meditation, the stylistic influence of the representatives of the journal Nyugat circle around a disciplined cadence, reminiscent of classic designs, all wrapped in a simplicity that often go to puritanism.

Nature plays an important role in his poetry which is permeated by adoration of the landscape Transylvanian native land. It acquired literary successes: in 1929 is János Kemény winner Erdelyi Helikon Society, and in 1941 the prize Baumgarten. The political events of his time was watching them critically increasingly sharper, his humanistic ideals never give up at his desire to integrate into a community worthy person, to get rid of the heavy isolation is reflected Lobby volumes vagy ember  (Cluj 1940) and Válogatott versek (Cluj in 1944). Until June 24, 1944 was for 24 years the editor of the weekly Székely Közélet. It plays an important role in the literary life after the Second World War.

Its volumes from this period – Régebbi és újabb versek (Bucharest 1955), Legszebb version (Bucharest 1962), versek (Bucharest 1963) – but especially ancient poems together. A collection of his poems chosen Tavaszi ESO gives posthumous volume zenéje (Cluj 1980). It’s important to work as a translator because of interpretation of Goethe’s work, Schiller, Hölderlin, Keller, Mörike, Rilke. His poems can be read in English, French, German and Romanian.

 

  1. Áprily Lajos  Memorial House

Location: Praid, Harghita County

On October 19th 1991 was inaugurated Áprily Lajos Memorial House, where you will find a brief history about the famous poet and translator Áprily Lajos, who spent his childhood in Praid. The exhibition features personal items and manuscripts of the poet.

 

  1. Imre Nagy Memorial House

Location: Jigodin, Harghita County

Graduate school of schoolmasters, Nagy Imre  (1893 – 1976) was professor. After World War dealt sculpture. A period spent in Budapest where he taught drawing and painting at the Art Academy in Budapest, and in 1924 he came home and settled in Jigodin, where he paints until his death landscapes and the people who lived in this landscape.

Since 1920 he had several exhibitions in Cluj, Brasov, Targu Mures and Bucharest, with a solo show in London. With his works boast several museums in Transylvania.

He lives in a simple cottage with porch and three rooms that expand in 1966 with a workshop. He works daily 6:00 hours, even when it last 80 years.

Among the many official recognition of his talent mention award „Zichy Mihály” from  1939 graphics, the title „Honored Artist of Romania” in 1957, and the Cultural Merit Medal Class I.

Native’s house became a museum, and the grave yard a great artist. The memorial house are exposed furniture, books, documents and collection of paintings of artist Imre Nagy. Worth mentioning his collection of straw hats, two self-portraits drawn last and unfinished composition on the support. The painter donated to the city over 6,000 of his works.

In 1973, the anniversary celebration of 80 years of the artist’s native house is built near Gallery. After the death of Nagy Imre in this building to set up a permanent exhibition of paintings of the painter, who outnumber 6,000 copies. His painting entitled „Towards Noah’s Ark” inspired the poet Sándor Kányádi writing a poem, note „on the back of the painting of Nagy Imre .” It was a contemporary of István Nagy és Ferenc Marton Jeno Gyárfás. It has many paintings in the gallery of Targu Mures in the Szekler National Museum of St. George. The bones are wall painter workshop in birthplace.

 

  1. Tamási Aron Memorial House

Location: Lupeni, Harghita County

Lupeni is the native village of the great writer of the Szekler, Tamasi Aron. The village lies in the valley of the Upper Nica, on both sides of the river, at an altitude of 540-580 m.Here is the memorial house, the monument dedicated to the writer and the writer’s grave.

Memorial House is an old building dating back more than 150 years, being the native home of the writer. When lifting its carved wood used and the roof is made of shingle. In this house Tamasi Aron was born on 19 September 1897. Launched on 24 September 1972, the memorial house exhibit furniture, personal belongings, manuscripts, works, letters, photographs belonging to the writer.

The tomb of the famous writer is on the western edge of the village, behind the Roman Catholic church and the cemetery, in a beautiful park full of flowers.

Tamași Monument, the work of sculptor Szervátiusz Jeno and his son Tibor (1972-1974), is carved from a rock 3 meters high, 1 m wide, weighing 8 tons, brought here by the mountain Harghita. On the monument are the characters from the works of Tamási.

 

HUNEDOARA

 

  1. Aurel Vlaicu Memorial House

Location: Aurel Vlaicu, Hunedoara County

It was founded in 1952 by the Hunedoara County Museum, the house where he lived Aurel Vlaicu and his family. House hosts a collection of objects related to the activity of aviator and inventor of Aurel Vlaicu (1882-1913). The collection comprises: a gramophone, a magneton, phone casings, a steam boiler built by Vlaicu, design drawings on personal invention.

Aurel Vlaicu (b. November 19, 1882, Binținți near Orastie, Hunedoara County – d. September 13, 1913, Banești near Campina) was a Romanian engineer, inventor and aviation pioneer and world Romanian. In his honor, the village is now called Aurel Vlaicu Binținți. On 13 September 1913 during an attempt to cross the Carpathians with Vlaicu II his plane crashed near Campina, apparently due to a heart attack.

The following year his friends Magnani and Silișteanu complete the  construction  of airplane Vlaicu III  and pilot using Petre Macavei, performs several short flights. Authorities weather prohibiting the continuation of the tests. In the fall of 1916, during the German occupation, the aircraft is sent to Berlin. It was last seen in 1940.

 

  1. Crisan Memorial House

Location: The village of Crisan, commune  Ribita, Hunedoara County

Located in the village Ribita, about 15 kilometers from Brad, „Crisan Memorial House” maintains a unique specimen in the history of the uprising led by Horia, Closca and Crisan. In the village that once was called Vaca (currently called Crisan after martyr hero’s name) was born Giurgiu Mark said Crisan, who together with Horea and Closca are known in history as leaders in Transylvania Romanian Peasant Uprising of 1784. Ordered actions of Zarand peasant uprisings, enabling then to Campeni, Abrud and Cricau. From his camp started in the name of Horea, peasants ultimatum (November 11, 1784) who fought against Austrian troops in Zarand then at Brad and Halmagiu. After the suppression of the revolt, was caught Crisan (30 January 1785) and closed at Alba Iulia, where he killed himself strangled the sandals with straps from (13 February 1785).

The house where he was born in 1732 survived, it seems, until 1935. In place of the old house was built in 1979 another building which received the memorial home destination. The building was rebuilt after a photograph of a peasant house in the eighteenth century. Those who go there can see the specific architecture of the century. The building has stone foundation, where and cellar and pantry are two rooms and wooden beams, the house is covered with straw.

In the first room we are briefly presented some data and documents on local history, social and economic context in Transylvania around Uprising and the main events related to it.

Crisan is underlined contribution to this great lift Transylvanian Romanians for social rights and national and tragic end of the three leaders, Horea, Closca and Crisan. The second room is an attempt to reconstruct the interior of eighteenth-century house and pantry are exposed objects and tools specific time and place.In the House finds memorial bust of Crisan, the work of sculptor Marcel Olinescu the work being performed in 1929.

 

  1. Vlaicu Barna Memorial House

Location: The village of Crisan, commune Ribita, Hunedoara County

In Crisan village’s center can be visited the house where  he was born, Vlaicu Barna (1913 – 1999) – poet, novelist, memoirist, literary critic and Romanian translator.  In the same locality (but called Vaca in those days), with one hundred and eighty years before he was born Gheorghe Crisan, one of the three leaders of the riot of 1784 in Transylvania. Vlaicu Barna attended the High School „Avram Iancu”  from Brad and then the Faculty of Letters, University of Bucharest. His debut volume of poetry „White Cottages”. Other editorial were „Brum”, „Towers”, „Miners in Crisan village”, „Tulnici in the mountains”, „Auster” and novels: „When he was Horia Emperor” and „Catherine Varga novel”. It is one of the works of William Shakespeare translators.

He also translated from Meliusz Joszef, Adam Mickiewicz. Along with other big names of the time, Vlaicu Barna is active collaborator of Transylvania, a publication which, as a result of the Vienna Award (August 30, 1940) for four years from 1941, he supported affirmative action in Transylvania Romanian rights North busy. On 20 May 1996 Vlaicu Barna – son of the Land of Zarand – received the title of Honorary Citizen of the City of Brad, for all its work in literature.

 

IALOMITA

 

  1. Ionel Perlea Memorial House

Location: Ograda, Ialomita County

Memorial exhibition was established in birthplace of the composer and conductor Ionel Perlea (1900 – 1970), historic building, built in 1887 by Victor Perlea musician father. The exhibits documents relating to the history of music: furniture, musical instruments, letters, records, publications, music, photographs (about 800 pieces).

Over time, the building had several destinations, operating as a fertilizer warehouse, store vegetables, post. On 21 November 1983 he entered the exhibition circuit, and in 1996-1997 was restored by the  Ialomita County Museum. Since 2001 the administration was handed over to UNESCO Cultural Center „Johnny Perla” in Slobozia.

In 1969, Ionel Perlea conductor and composer who lived in New York, USA, visited his childhood places, after which he undertook the tour in Romania. Ionel Perlea was born in December 13, 1900 in the town of Ialomita Ograda. On July 29, 1970 in New York died after 20 years as conductor installation in Connecticut Symphony Orchestra.

 

IASI

 

  1. George Topârceanu Memorial House

Location  :  Iași, Iași  County

Located in Copou on Ralet Street (near Emergency Hospital between Lascar Catargi and Sararie streets),  the Memorial House „George Topîrceanu”  from Iasi belonged to  writer Demostene Botez, friend with George Topîrceanu.

It was built in the late nineteenth, early twentieth century. Once in 1919 was the editorial office of the magazine „Literary Notes” printed under the direction of Michael Sadoveanu and George Topîrceanu in 1932, the building  it is available to George Topîrceanu. It will stay here until May 7, 1937, when he was killed by a ruthless disease  at on only 51 years old and  he will be buried at the cemetery „Eternity” University.

Donated in 1983 by owners Theodore Neagu and Adrian Vulpe to the  Museum Complex of Iasi, this modest little house that is marble plaque with bas-relief of the poet and his flagship Tudor Arghezi words: „Smart as few people have pen and manuscript Topîrceanu of noble and kept discreet, not only shared sensibility filtered and willful beating a shade of bitterness and disillusionment and gave irony and sarcasm „was renovated, and opened as a museum on June 22, 1985, a year before the celebration by UNESCO the 100th anniversary of the birth of the poet.

The room where he lived and wrote, where in the spring of 1937 took way to Eternity, today is dominated by office work with writing articles, manuscripts and books with dedication, all arranged as if nothing has changed.

Off a moment in the doorway, waiting to come alive around the world of the creator. Thus we see the editorial „Romanian Life”, then the company’s M. Sadoveanu and Otilia Cazimir House Tower House at Copou or Bucsinescu street, walking in step is skipped, with stick and camera, the hunting or fishing, the excursions of Neamt and Varatec, but mainly at the office, laboring over his manuscripts.

Collections Description: Magazine Foundations no. 3 March 1934 – with corrections made by George Topîrceanu; Book: George Topîrceanu – Andor Bozor translation into Hungarian, with dedication to Otilia Casimir; glass negative plates for pictures taken by George Topîrceanu; painting – Caricature of George Topîrceanu – Ion Sava – stage director at the National Theatre in Iasi; George Topîrceanu letter by Cezar Petrescu, 25/02/1929; Sadoveanu manuscript – „George Topîrceanu”; Victor Mihailescu Craigslist gouache painting – „House of George Topîrceanu of Iasi” George Topîrceanu photo with dedication scientist Stephen Procopiu; George’s son Topîrceanu letter to Otilia Casimir; manuscript „Panic” – Demosthenes lyrics Baptism.

 

  1. Memorial Museum Al.I. Cuza

Location: Ruginoasa, Iasi County

Included on the list of historical monuments in the  Iași  county  in 2004, Alexandru Ioan Cuza Palace in Ruginoasa is a Gothic-style palace built in 1804 that originally belonged to Sturdza family, now is a memorial museum dedicated to Lord Union.

At the end of the eighteenth century noblemen Sturdza family bought the estate from Ruginoasa Duca Voda, ruling it for 200 years. In 1804, the town clerk and treasurer Sandulache Sturdza great Viennese architect hired Johann Freiwald to build a luxurious residence on the site of the old mansions of his ancestors. Also, German gardener Mehler aim at the palace arranged around a park with walkways lined with statues, benches hidden in the mazes of greenery and even a pond surrounded by willows. Ruginoasa Palace was built in Gothic style by Freiwald, its civil architecture in Moldova that time. In 1811, Sturdza Sandulache raised behind the mansion palace church, the place where it was a wooden church.

The palace was inherited by Costache Sturdza scribe’s son and cousin of Prince Michael Sandulache Sturdza (1834-1849). During 1847-1855, the scribe here the architect Johann Brandel who restored palace in Gothic style, style remains today.

The steward did not get to dwell too much here, he moving in Iasi, Moldova’s capital, where he owned several houses and some estates in the surroundings. Following an unfavorable conjuncture, the palace becomes mortgaged in 1857 by Bank of Moldova subsequently auctioned.

In 1862, Prince Alexandru Ioan Cuza the United Principalities palace bought at auction from the Bank of Moldova, aiming to turn it into a summer residence. Prince first concern was to fully renovate the palace.

Although Prince has spent little time in the palace, he lived here his wife, Lady Elena Cuza (1825-1909), which dealt with the furnishing and decorating his garden and outbuildings. She hired craftsmen to repair the building and German gardeners to restore the park around the castle.

The central staircase was built of marble, the walls were papered with silk from Paris, they were built fireplaces and chandeliers were brought expensive. The furniture was commissioned in 1863 in Paris, act today in order keeping the Romanian Academy Library.

 

Ruginoasa Palace was officially inaugurated by Prince Cuza the occasion of Easter in April 1864, when he arrived here with Al Cantacuzino, Nicolae Pisoski and Baligot of Beyne. In September 1864, after the promulgation of the Law 14/26 rural August 1864 (by which agricultural land appropriated land with over 400,000 peasant families and nearly 60,000 other villagers received plots of house and garden), the prince returned to palace.

It was expected that 6,000 peasants came to thank him. For a month, the ruler continued to work at the palace, making appointments and taking steps prefects autumn field work.

Went into exile in 1866 after being forced to abdicate, Prince continued to look after the estate of rust. He leased the estate in 1866 to 5,000 coins per year, to get money with which to support themselves in exile. At the same time, he refused to take a capital of 500,000 francs deposited by new management at Rothschild Bank in the Principalities. Former ruler died on 3/15 May 1873 in the city of Heidelberg (Germany), and his remains were brought to Ruginoasa. Subsequently displaced several times, were deposited in a final (1946) Three Hierarchs Church in Iasi, where he arranged a crypt.

Alexandru Cuza left his estate in Ruginoasa his wife, Maria Moruzzi, after whose death in 1921, the palace was donated by Children’s Hospital testament „Charity”. Some of the furniture was donated to the Military Museum. In subsequent years, deterioration has begun building, which was accentuated by the Second World War.

The palace was badly damaged by battles fought nearby in the Second World War, leaving him only a few ruined walls of the enclosure and wall pieces. It was reconstructed in the period 1968-1978, the restored palace itself, a part of the enclosure wall and only a bastion in the north-west. It managed to integrate the whole museum to only 13 ha of the 27 ha area they originally had. In 1979 it tried arranging a museum of history here, but until 1982 was officially inaugurated Memorial Museum Al.I. Cuza with a section of history and ethnography one.

The ground floor of the palace contains exhibits that reconstruct the life and work of Prince Al Cuza. The curators have tried to arrange the palace floor to bring the appearance of his time Cuza. They were made antique furniture, antique books, silver cutlery. In office work they have brought some pieces of furniture in oak, which Elena Cuza has commissioned renowned Parisian firms PP Mazaroz Ribaillier. Decorative State Enterprise restored a comfortable Bucharest after the original circular.

They were reconstructed: the library (books brought from Paris), a work room for the prince, a gothic dining room, a reception hall the visitors (with furniture style Louis XV), Elena Cuza room (with furniture Louis Philippe style), children’s room, bedroom Elena Cuza (with Renaissance-style furniture) and bedroom prince.

Built in Gothic style, inspired by German romanticism, Palace Ruginoasa is similar to the Miclaușeni Sturdza Palace. The palace is a square building with one floor, with four nearly symmetrical façade, with wide and straight platforms and balconies on all sides resting on stone slabs.

Formerly it had four towers, which were not preserved today. Currently the central staircase is built of wood.

 

  1. Vasile Alecsandri Memorial House

Location: Mircești, Iasi County

Alecsandri family mansion was built between 1861-1867 by own plans of the poet Alecsandri and under the supervision of Paulina Alecsandri (1840-1921), the poet’s wife,  in Mircești village, at a distance of 4 km from the European Road Iasi – Roman. Originally it was built two rooms and a hallway, then extending poet house to make it more spacious.

The house is located in a park with centuries-old oaks and walnuts planted by poet. At a distance of several hundred meters, Alecsandri originally wanted to build a school for girls.

In this modest house, the poet lived between the years 1866-1890, composing part of his literary work. Here were housed poet visiting friends Mircești: political or literary personalities like Ion Ghica, Costache Negri, Maiorescu, AD Xenopol or Eudoxiu Hurmuzachi Hungarian composer Franz Liszt – who performed Mircești route to Russia or Rhapsody Barbu Lautaru.

By his will dated 21 September 1886, the poet Alecsandri left his wife, Paulina, his estate house in the village Mircești. In 1914, the poet’s widow left her entire fortune to her granddaughters, Elena and Margaret Catargi through a sale purchase agreement authenticated by the District Court Mircești Rural, accounting for their obligation within two months free to donate fortune any encumbrances Romanian Academy.

In 1914, the Romanian Academy came into possession of the house and appointed a custodian for all inventory. The house was in custody Academy until 1944, being allowed visitors. Following the close of the battles in the Second World War, the mansion and exhibits suffered some damage that caused the need of restoration.

After the war, his home and his property was confiscated by the Romanian state, passing Arts and administered by the Ministry of Information. Once completed repairs, the mansion was opened as a memorial museum on 9 June 1957. The exhibits were reorganized in 1987, and then in the period 1991-1993 were carried out restoration work. At its conclusion, the memorial house was reopened to the visitors on 19 September 1993.

With the removal of the leadership of the communist regime in Romania, the memorial house Alecsandri passed to  Mircești public domain Iași County Council. In 2005, Romanian Academy brought an action against the Iași County Council, demanding the return of the estate in the village Mircești which the poet Alecsandri. By judgment of the Civil Division of the Court of Iasi, Romanian Academy back in possession of the memorial house, the estate and the mausoleum of Mircești.

Exhibits located at the former home of Mircești aim to reconstruct chronologically the stages in the life of the writer Vasile Alecsandri (while studying in Iasi and Paris literary debut, the gathering of folklore and playwright, participation in the Revolution of 1848, the Union Romanian Principalities, the diplomatic work of the writer and member of the Society Junimea) and points relating to his literary. Here they are exposed pieces of furniture (desk, upright piano, mirror, closet, beds), oil paintings and photographs of family (parents and family portraits), prints, photocopies of manuscripts, letters, editions of works, original documents, issues on its staging his plays and various items of memorial.

 

In the courtyard of the mansion, was built between 1925-1927, at  the initiative of the Romanian Academy and supported by the Ministry of Arts, a mausoleum like Moldovan princely foundations, have been displaced from May 19, 1928 the remains of the poet, originally buried in a crypt corner from the garden. Also here they were buried the remains of the poet’s parents, brought by his wife care from church „St. Spiridon” Iasi and placed to the right of the poet and his wife, Paulina Alecsandri (1840-1921), poet placed left.

Festive Mausoleum was inaugurated on June 3, 1928, in the presence of several members of the Romanian Academy and the political and cultural personalities such as Simion Mehedinti, I.Gh. Duca – Public Education and Religious Affairs Minister, Alexander Lapadatu – Minister of Religions, Bishop Lucian Triteanu, DC Istrati, George G. Mârzescu, I. Onciul Colonel Anghelescu – royal adjutant among those who spoke being also the writer Mihail Sadoveanu, as reported newspaper „Adevarul” on 5 June 1928 under the title pilgrimage Mircești Academy.

 

  1. Vasile Pogor Memorial House

Location: Iasi, Iasi County

The building has nine rooms on the ground floor and first floor, plus two halls, which are the main stages and literary trends of the last two centuries: writers Costache Conachi period, Alecsandri, Alexandru Donici Salon „Literary Dacia” forty-eighters writers and unionists, since the founding of the Society „Junimea‘’and writers junimist (Maiorescu, Vasile Pogor, Carp, Mihai Eminescu, Ion Creanga, I.L. Caragiale, Ion Slavici and others), literature from the” Contemporary „and” Romanian Life „Garabet Ibraileanu period, hall „mass Shadow” writers room Sadoveanu, Cezar Petrescu, Alexei Mateevici, Calistrat Hogas, interwar period (George Bacovia, Magda Isanos, Eusebius Camilar), Nicolae Labis. It was restored in 1968, in the arrangement of the museum, and repaired after the 1977 earthquake.

Memorial House „Vasile Pogor” is the museum that covers modern and contemporary Romanian literature, but especially during the great classics of literary society „Junimea”.

The building was built in 1850 by Vasile Pogor magistrate, with his wife Zoe. This time is attested by a hexagonal stone found after excavations conducted in the restoration, which is the inscription in Cyrillic: „V. Pogor 1850 and his wife Zoe.”

The building has a rich and long history tied to the cultural life of Iasi, the city’s meeting place for intellectuals headquarters Junimea Literary Society (1863) and the magazine „Literary Conversations” (1867). Among the names who attended resounding first circle junimist remember the five founders: Maiorescu, Vasile Pogor, PP Carp, Th. Rosetti, Jacob Negruzzi, and Mihai Eminescu, Ion Creanga, I.L . Caragiale, Ion Slavici,  Vasile Alecsandri, Vasile Conta, A.D. Xenopol, N. Gane.

Vasile Pogor sell the building and surrounding park Maria Moruzzi Cuza, historic future mother Gh. I. Bratianu (son of Prime Minister Bratianu, executor of the Great Union of Romanian States after World War) and disciple of N. Iorga. In the period after 1906 house suffers some changes. After World War II the building was used as headquarters for various institutions, moving through a new restoration for arranging the Museum of Literature.

The museum was inaugurated on December 26, 1972. The museum building designed space consisting of twelve rooms of the permanent exhibition and an annex building, inaugurated in 1994, which protects the entrance to the catacombs House „Pogor” restored in 1993-1994 and comprise color on two levels (dating from the XVIII and XIX).

On the ground floor is the museum’s library. The exhibits items of memorial, tapestries, paintings from the nineteenth century manuscripts (Sadoveanu, Cezar Petrescu, George Topîrceanu, Otilia Cazimir, Mihai Codreanu), original photographs, first editions of the works of writers over 150 years. Among the most representative exhibits include gold watch Eminescu, monogrammed, gold ring with ruby stone, a piece of furniture from Mihail Kogalniceanu, travel and mail a set of Costache Negri, the painting „Head of whether ” by G. Asachi and his piano Duiliu Zamfirescu. Among the most valuable exhibits of the museum also include a „grammar” of I. Vacarescu, „Critical” by T. Maiorescu and a „Almanac of teaching and party” of Kogalniceanu.

Here works the so-called Cultural Club „Junimea” place that hosts multiple activities organized by the Romanian Literature Museum, Iasi conferences in the evenings magazine „Literary Dacia” (reissued Romanian Literature Museum, Iasi), Literary „Junimea”, symposia, anniversaries, commemorations of Romanian cultural figures, meetings with Romanian or foreign writers, presentations and book launches and literary magazines, music recitals, art exhibitions openings.

 

  1. Otilia Cazimir Memorial House

Location: Iasi, Iasi County

Built before 1860, the building was purchased in 1908 by the schoolmaster Gheorghe Gavrilescu, Alexandra Gavrilescu father, the future poet Otilia Cazimir (1894-1967) – pseudonym mastered it after literary collaboration which he had with  Mihail Sadoveanu and Garabet Ibraileanu .

Here the poet lived between the years 1908 – 1967, receiving hospitality friends: George Topîrceanu, Mihai Codreanu, Petre Comarnescu, George Lesnea, Nicolae Labis, Mihai Petrescu, Florin Ion Istrati, Ana Maslea. Moreover, Otilia Cazimir nickname is due to the poet with two great personalities of his time,  Mihail Sadoveanu from 10 June 1972 memorial house became a museum, the building was restored so between 1970-1972, and in 1977, after the quake. On 13 October 1994, at the centenary of the birth of poet, the street becomes „Otilia Cazimir” and in the backyard with lilac sat a bust by the sculptor Dan Covataru.

Here are exhibited 300 personal objects and manuscripts, photographs, paintings, all of which are directly connected with Otilia Cazimir activity. Icons are displayed in the eighteenth century with silver ouches, paintings by Victor Mihailescu Craiu and Nicolae Constantin, unpublished photos, autographed books, manuscripts, Moldovan rugs, furniture and personal belongings of the poet. Objects are displayed in two rooms and a hall, playing environment in which he lived and created famous writer.

All are located in their place – objects and photographs, manuscripts, paintings, carpets, towels icons of the silk so that the visitor has the impression that Otilia Cazimir went up a visit to Copou at Sadoveni, but would be back soon home. Otilia Cazimir is a recognized poet in particular because of his poems for children, the book „Baba fall-winter in the village”. It was the fifth child of  the teacher Gheorghe Gavrilescu. She spent her childhood in her native village and began writing poems when she was little. She attended high school and University in Iasi, the city wheres she spent her entire life. She debuted in 1912 in Romanian Life magazine, in which prints most of the writings. Between 1937- 1947 she served as inspector of theaters in Moldova. The parents called her in childhood „Luchi”. From her autobiographical prose ” Luchi died ” we learn that the name „Luchi” disappears with the coming into school when the girl grew up to be a student. When the teacher shouted her name, the girl did not answer, because everybody tells her Luchi. A  colleague explained  the teacher that they call  her at home „Luchi, like puppies.” Little poet feels ashamed and tells her to herself: „I am ashamed of my name, I am ashamed of myself, ashamed of everything.”

In childhood playmates are  missed, as she herself confesses: „I was a good little girl. All were older than me. I was playing alone. I was shy. Sometimes we sing. ”

Otilia Cazimir loved children and she has made for her literary creations: «tenderness children always impressed me. I approached them seeing, writing them poems cheerful with a slight tinge of irony „.

I began by telling the children stories and, only later, I started writing for them. It is due to my early passion for astronomy. When I was an „auntie” just out of primary school, my grandchildren telling them that not until years separated me about the stars’.  At the Romanian Life magazine she  met George Topârceanu. Among them was  a tied up a  close friendship and a true love story.

Earn prizes by the Romanian Academy and similar institutions, and literary works with most magazines from Cehov and Tolstoi  translations. Otilia Cazimir dies in 1957, leaving bedside tables books that many children love them.

 

  1. Nicolae Gane Memorial House

Location: Iasi, Iasi County

The building was built in the second half of the nineteenth century architectural monument and memorial value. The house belonged to  the novelist Nicolae Gane until  his death (1916), and  then his son sold it to the Regional Directorate of Forestry. After 1948 the building passed  in to Heritage Hall Iasi, being attributed Husbandry Enterprise. On December 25, 1992 was attributed to  Romanian Literature Museum which currently has several rooms, others are still occupied  ny the Autonomous District Iași.

Nicolae Gane Memorial Museum reconstitute the writer’s room that had this house in the estate. Were used for this authentic vintage items and objects from the nineteenth century, its original correspondence, manuscripts, documents, paintings, photographs and original paintings from the XIX-XX, books that belonged to the man of culture, a prominent member of the Society „Junimea „. It was attempted to restore the typical atmosphere of a house belonging to a scholar, writer junimist, politician and mayor of Iasi from the middle of last century until the middle of the second decade of our century.

In Nicolae Gane’s  house was also  organized town hall museum evoking personalities who were at the forefront of Iasi administration: Vasile Pogor, Costache Negruzzi, Dimitrie Gusti etc. Museum tries to highlight both aspects of cultural activity, and especially issues concerning their work for the benefit of the capital of Moldova. It highlighted the outstanding achievements in architectural and urbanistic plan in the most varied fields, prominently being educational and cultural institutions. They used prints and original photographs, posters, paintings, manuscripts, publications of City Hall, autographed books, objects that belonged to personalities mentioned. All this trying to suggest landmarks in the evolution of Iasi in the last two hundred years.

The two cores museums will be expanded in coming years, as it will have more space. It will add their Museum of Mechanical Writing Instruments which has already begun to documentation and collection of materials. Nicolae Gane was born on February 1, 1838 in the city Falticeni, the heir of an old Boyar families. He attended primary school at Falticeni with Father Neophytos Scriban then enroll in French boarding school in Iasi Louis Jordan followed legal sciences in Paris.

After returning home, Nicolae Gane was hired secretary-translator of the Director General of Prisons in Moldova (1857). In the same year was appointed as Judge of the Court of Suceava, where it is dismissed because prounioniste events.

After the Union of Romanian countries in 1859, he returns to the bench where several functions: President of the Court Suceava, Iasi Member of the Court of Reinforcement (1861), prefect of Suceava (1863) and subsequent Dorohoi passes in 1864 as judge  in Focsani Court of Appeal, where it transferred in 1865 to similar institution in Iasi. Nicolae Gane becomes member of society „Junimea” University, publishing short stories and poems lyric in „Literary Conversations”.

In 1867, Nicolae Gane is appointed President of the Court of Appeal Focsani station but resigns and settled in Iasi, where trying to practice law but which have no vocation. In 1868, it was appointed for a short period in office of Prosecutor at the Court of Appeal Iași. In political activity he was elected in 1870 as Member of the group „Junimist” and prefect of Iasi. In the period 1872 – 1911, he was elected mayor five times Iasi, as noted by the following achievements: drinking water feed source in Iasi from the source Timișești, most important project of his, which was attacked in the press; a contract for asphalting and maintenance of streets and sidewalks in the years 1872-1873, the contract approved by King Charles I; A study on the various traction systems for urban public transportation; inauguration, in 1899, the Communal Power Plant; beginning, in 1900, electric trams exploitation; inauguration on December 1, 1896, the National Theatre building, became a member of the National Liberal Party in 1883, he was elected several times deputy and senator from this party. For a short period (1 to 20 March 1888) served as Minister of Agriculture, Industry, Trade and Ion Bratianu government areas.

Nicolae Gane wrote romantic prose tone that evokes the past, patriarchal life and hunting adventures. Among works published by Nicolae Gane, mention: Lady Ruxandra, Whistle Stephen Osman’s Stone, Treasure of the Rarau, Nightingale Socol, Hunting Aliuța Hatmanul Baltag Santos, astronomer and salve, Balașa mistress, Petru Rares Andrei Florea turkey, Mug Balan holidays, St. Andrew, the Oak of Borzești so on.

On April 1, 1908 he was elected as member of the Romanian Academy. Later, it was reading and board member of the National Theater in Iasi (1910-1916). Nicolae Gane passed away on April 16, 1916 in the city of Iasi.

 

MARAMURES

 

  1. Ioan Stan Patras Memorial House

Location: Sapanta, Maramures County

The memorial house is located about 200 m from the Merry Cemetery, on a side street and consists of a house with two rooms and the yard is carving and painting workshop of craftsman. Here they are exposed and crosses made of it.

Stan Ioan Patras was born in 1908, in the village Sapanta Maramures County in an ordinary family with artistic wood processing. Patras was drawn at a young age of woodcarving, painting and poetry forged folk canons. He started to carve oak crosses the age of 14 years. In 1935, Stan Ioan Patras, then an anonymous sculptor in wood, began to settle on crosses and some documents in the form of short poems composed in the first person: epitaphs ironic, naive, often with grammatical errors and very close archaic dialect. At first, carve around 10 crosses per year, the material used is oak. In 1936, he perfected his style. Crosses have become more narrow and appeared in relief carved figures, vivid color obtained from natural pigments.

Stan Ioan Patras was a complex craftsman, making a series of artistic handicrafts: hooks, angles, chairs, cabinets, dish shelves, spoon and monumental works such as crucifixes and gates. He adorned his own house with wood carvings, colorful. He died in 1977.

Merry Cemetery of Sapanta is kind archive that preserves inlaid wood  life stories. This cemetery is unique because Stan Ioan Patras added wood colors of life and turned a sad usually a cheerful place.

 

MURES

 

  1. Petőfi Sándor Memorial House

Location: Albești, Mures County

The building is constructed in rustic style between 1897 – 1898 by Countess Luise Haller. She donated the land on which the property is jointly remained the largest cemetery after the battle of 31 July 1849. The memorial house comprises an exhibition in memory of the great poet Petofi. The house has three rooms. The first room displays documents evoking the era poet, the second chamber contains documents about the poet’s life, and in the last room are exposed model of Albești battle of July 31, 1849, documents, photos, manuscripts.

The site is a park with trees, Thuja, a monument-high statue Bossini brothers, famous architects of Italian origin, plaques related to poet and the revolution of 1848 – 1849. The top of the monument is placed eagle with sword, made by sculptor Miklos Kollo. The monument is a symbol whole Hungarian nation and symbolizes the struggle for freedom. Over the past decades, the memorial house and the park was maintained by different families who lived in the courtyard park.

After 1950, the ensemble reached subordinated History Museum Sighisoara posting one employee as the manager custodian. Currently, the memorial belongs Albești Village Hall. Since 1990 they collaborate with the Cultural Association „Petofi” Albești. Every summer, the last Sunday of July, organized „Petofi Celebration” commemorating the 1849 battle of life and the disappearance of the poet Sandor Petofi.

 

Sandor Petofi (b. January 1, 1823, Kiskőrös, county Pest-Pilis-Solt-Kiskun – d. Probably July 31, 1849, Albești, county Tarnava Mare) was a Hungarian romantic poet, hero of the 1848 revolution in Hungary and Transylvania .

He was born into a modest family, father Stevan Petrović master butcher of the Serb and his mother Maria Hruza Slovak origin.

He was seven when they moved to Kiskunfélegyháza, which he considers his hometown later. His father tried to give him the best schools, but when the poet reaches the age of 15, his family has lost all his wealth as a result of the floods of 1838 and girarii a relative. Petofi was forced to leave school and work as an actor in Pest, the Ostffyasszonyfa teacher and soldier in Sopron.

After many adventurous travelers get to be student Pápa College of the Transdanubian town, where he meets the writer Mór Jókai, which befriends. A year later, in 1842, it was published in the newspaper a poem Athenaeum has signed a Petrovics Sándor. In the same year, on 3 November, he published his first poetry Petofi signed.

But more interested in acting and, for two years, leaving in tournaments. However in 1844 he walked from Debrecen to fish, to find a publisher for his poems. In his poems, very popular, uses popular items, traditional, often used rhymes and folk songs. In 1845 he wrote the longest work, the epic „János speed”. In 1846 makes a trip to Transylvania, where he met Count Teleki Sándor oppositionist and his future wife, Júlia Szendrey. In 1847 at Baia Mare descends into a mine, an occasion to write the poem „In Mine”. Spouses residing in the corner of Petofi between 8 September 1847 and 20 October 1847. During this time, Sandor Petofi wrote the most beautiful love poems.

His creed is poetic and political confessed in 1847: „If the people will be master in poetry, there will be far to possess and politics, is what teaches us this century, here aim to be top people follow him, Hell aristocracy. ” In 1848 he participates actively in the revolution. On September 16 write proclamation of equality and enlists in the army. His superiors are not satisfied with it, since it was recalcitrant and ineffective military leadership openly attack. His wife gives birth to their son Zoltán Júlia 15 December. Petofi is forced to ask for a furlough, and his opponents in the army considers his departure as an act of cowardice allowed.

Because of these attacks against him in a dignified letter asking to be received in Bem’s army in Transylvania. On January 19, 1849 at Slimnic go through Medias, it is received with great warmth by General Bem and first-time combat.

He is  awarded with  the „Medal for merits in war.” On 30 July 1849 the tsarist troops encircling made in the battle of Albești poet Sandor Petofi is missing. Some argue that he found death in retaliation, others that he was taken prisoner of war in Czarist Russia. National poet of the Hungarian people, Sandor Petofi know the most eloquent audiences all over the world, while conveying the ardor of a romantic temperament with a fundamentally humanist vision.

 

NEAMT

 

  1. Ion Creanga Memorial House

Location: Targu Neamt, Neamt County

Located in Humulești, village known since childhood memories of Ion Creanga, today district of Targu Neamt street Ion Creanga no. 8 Ozana beyond the clear and beautiful flowing, Ion Creanga Memorial House keeps alive the memory of the writer.

Built in 1830 by the great storyteller paternal grandfather, Petrea Ciubotariul, he was received by his son Stephen in 1835, when he married Smaranda Creanga from Pipirig. The building was restored in 1937 by historian Nicolae Iorga . Creanga’s childhood home remained inheritance from generation to generation and was inhabited until 1959, when it was declared by a decree national heritage and museum. Only later, in 1965, Zahei Gregoriou, one of the descendants storyteller, gave an order setting up the museum.

Under shingle roof wide walls duration of thick beams to bedding layer defines a single room low three little windows on the east side and a porch where you could barely turning. Low entrance is sheltered from rain rushed through several hands wide porch. Behind the house a covering of boards with slope more quickly protect household items and agricultural tools with definite ethnographic value.

Currently a museum, the house accommodates objects that once belonged to the family Creanga.

The great room table is today a bust of Ion Creanga. In the porch of the house is arranged an exhibition with works of the great storyteller with archival documents, letters, postcards autographed, textbooks new method of writing and reading; Education of children; Geography Iasi County, photocopies of manuscripts and photographs. The exhibition and 14 graphic works made of plastic artist Eugen Taru used to illustrate the 1959 edition volume childhood memories.

Exhibits presented are characterized by simplicity, common sense and modesty Moldovan peasants own, generating a strong sense of reverence, not only for what they represent to the memory of Ion Creanga, but because they are authentic testimonies of the inhabitants of this popular tradition part of the country.

Having become one of the most visited memorial museums, the house  Ion Creanga, beyond its historical and literary significance and sentimental, it is a product of folk architecture certain specific period and ethno-cultural area falling.

 

The exhibits are valuable ethnographic, documentary and nostalgic objects exposed keeping alive the image and biography Ion Creanga standing testimony to the civilization and folk tradition characterized by simplicity, good sense and modesty Track the inhabitants of the country. Currently, Ion Creanga Memorial House is one of the most visited museums in the country, running and more than 40,000 annual threshold of Romanian and foreign tourists.

 

PRAHOVA

 

  1. Nichita Stanescu Memorial House

Location: Ploiesti, Prahova County

If you go to Ploiesti, a benchmark for all lovers of literature, and not only is the Memorial House Nichita Stanescu, which all Ploiesti poet, and not just her pride. The building was built between 1926-1927 by Christ Stanescu (poet’s grandfather) and his two sons George and younger Nicholas (father of the poet). In this house were newlyweds Nicholas and Tatiana moved in 1931. Here at March 31, 1933 was born and lived the great poet Nichita Stanescu.

Used furniture (office work of the student and the student Nichita Stanescu, piano poet, bedroom, living room, kitchen, home pendulum of native), opera antuma poet (books with dedications autographs, offered family, friends) national awards (diplomas offered Writers Union of Romania, Academy, etc.), international awards (Award for best young poet – Struga 1965 Gottfried von Herder Patent medal 1976 Grand Prize „Golden Wreath” of the Struga Poetry Evenings 1982 s. a), unpublished manuscripts (Poetry „Quadriga”, the first international recognition of the poet – 1965), original documents (extract from The registry for births in 1933, admission chief heading the „Literary Gazette” – 1957), photos, documents evocative of activity numismatist (Diploma of Honor Society for Nichita Stanescu coins, medals, etc.), the poet’s posthumous work and personal items (lighters, clocks, figurines, etc.) are displayed here. The presence of the poet called „blond angel” is felt by all Ploiesti, dedicating city, besides memorial house, a high school (prestige) that bears his name, a downtown park where we find a bust of the poet, a street and an annual poetry festival.

Nichita Stanescu (n. Hristea Nichita Stanescu, March 31, 1933, Ploiesti, Prahova County – d. Dec. 13, 1983 in Fundeni Hospital in Bucharest) was a poet, writer and essayist Romanian elected post mortem member of the Romanian Academy.

Considered both literary critics and the general public as one of the greatest writers ever had Romanian language that he himself called it „divinely beautiful” Nichita Stanescu belongs temporal, structural and formal, neo-modernist poetry or Romanian modernism in 1960-1970. Nichita Stanescu was considered by some critics as Eugen Simion Alexandru Condeescu  a poet of amplitude, depth and remarkable intensity, part of the rare category of inventors linguistic and poetic. He was awarded the Herder Prize. In 1981 it was awarded the Order of Cultural Merit, Class II. „Nichita Stanescu is the most important Romanian poet after the Second World War. With him, through him, logos Romanian language poets take revenge on them. „(Stefan Augustin Doinaș, 1995).

 

SATU-MARE

 

  1. Vasile Lucaciu Memorial house

Location: Apa, Satu Mare County

The Memorial house Dr. Vasile Lucaciu present documents and objects evoking the life and work of the Transylvanian Memorandum Vasile Lucaciu (1852-1922).

It is a country house consisting of two rooms and entrance hall which opened as a memorial museum in 1968. It comprises six main objectives:

  • Parish House where the priest dr. Vasile Lucaciu lived with  his family in  the period 1885-1914; • Church of the Holy Union of all Romanians founded by Vasile Lucaciu and consacrated in 1890; • gathering place;
  • Documents, period photographs, original pieces of furniture;
  • Library (15,000 volumes) providing information necessary to know the life, activity and strong personality of  „Șișești Lion”, the Memorandum and creator of Greater Romania.

Vasile Lucaciu, nicknamed „The Lion of Șișești” was a leader of the national liberation movement of the Romanians in Transylvania and one of the artisans of building Greater Romania. He was born on January 22, 1852, in the village Apa from Satu Mare County,  in the of family Mihai Lucaciu teacher. Under the guidance of his father, Vasile Lucaciu will receive the basics of reading and writing. In 1862 he is  enrolled at the secondary school  in Baia Mare where he follows the first four grades until 1866. In the autumn of 1866 he attends the class V of  the Highschool Ungvar Ruthenian and the sixth grade to the  high school from Oradea. In 1868 it is presented to a competition for a scholarship at the „St. Athanasius” from Rome.  He returns home in 1870 with a PhD in theology and philosophy, having the qualifier with „Magna cum laude”. Between 1871-1874 he attended for a short time the University of Vienna, ending them in 1881 in Budapest. In 1874 he finished his studies at Gherla and  in the same year, he married  to Paulina Serbac, daughter of the priest from Potau. 1878 is the year when Vasile Lucaciu  is appointed professor at the Royal High School from Satu Mare, the department of religion – Romanian language and literature. In 1880, caught in the whirl of political events of the time, speeches against injustices that are Romanians in Transylvania. On August 27, 1885, after persecution,  he  is giving up the position of Professor and reach the Parish Church from Șișești. On August 27, 1890 was inaugurated the Church from Șișești „Pro Unione Omnium S. Romanorum” in the presence of a large audience.  The Church was called „Monastery of the Virgin” celebrated  in 15 August each year. In  time  it is becoming a „monastery” where believers came to worship at the Holy Mary in procession with banners priests, a pilgrimage full of piety and Christian meditation. Often the meetings here, whilst the Parish was administered by Father Lucaciu went beyond the strictly ecclesiastical.

Vasile Lucaciu stated among the most   temerarious leaders of the emancipation of Romanians in Transylvania during the memoranda movement which ran from 1877 until 1895. On November 28, 1922, at the age of 70 years, dr. Vasile Lucaciu dies and  he is buried in Șișești on the 1st of December, after 4 years of the unification of Transylvania with Romania.

 

SIBIU

 

  1. Constantin Noica Memorial House

Location: Paltinis, Sibiu County

Constantin Noica Memorial House is located in the tourist resort Paltinis, 32 kilometers southwest of Sibiu, Sibiu County. Here Romanian philosopher spent the last 12 years of his life. He arrived here as a tourist in 1975 and left in 1987. Once, the house belonged to SC resort. In 2000 it was ceded Humanitas Aqua Forte Foundation, sponsored by Liiceanu. Following renovation in autumn 2008, Noica’s room was preserved and the rest of the house became available PhD in philosophy.

Near Constantin  Noica Memorial House is the tomb of the writer. He died on 4 December 1987 in this high piece of heaven, at 1,442 m altitude, closer to absolute heart and Romanian culture. Constantin Noica (1909 – 1987) was one of the most imposing figures of Romanian philosophy. Poet, writer, essayist and journalist, Noica left us a priceless cultural heritage, valued by many writers who followed him. He started the most original schools of philosophy that cultural history from the former communist countries met.

Coming from a family with roots Aromanian old whose name can be found in the nineteenth century in many regions south of the Danube, Noica, the third child of Gregory and Noica Clement was born in the village Vitanești Teleorman, July 12, 1909. He died in pulmonary edema Hospital in Sibiu, on 4 December 1987.

Thanks to the insistence of his disciples as by the Metropolitan Antonie Plamadeala, Noica was buried where he confessed his desire to be buried: in Paltinis near the Hermitage, near the church dedicated to „Transfiguration”.

 

SUCEAVA

 

  1. Eusebiu Camilar Memorial House

Location: Udești, Suceava

Eusebiu Camilar Memorial House from Udești is a memorial museum established in the house where the writer Eusebiu  Camilar (1910-1965)  spent his childhood  in Udești village in Suceava. The house was built of wood in the late nineteenth century.

It is a farm house which was built by his parents in the late nineteenth century and is located next to the old school in the village Udești. The house is modest in size and appearance, built of oak and covered with shingles. The house was surrounded by a fence of oak and had 800 square meters of land that was arranged and a small flower garden.

In this house he was born on October 4, 1910 in the family of John and Natalia Camilar the  future writer Eusebiu Camilar (1910-1965). He attended primary school in his native village, after which he studied at the   highscool „Stefan cel Mare”  from Suceava. He began writing at the age of 14-15 years, then he worked as a journalist in Iasi.

Eusebiu Camilar married on March 31, 1938 with  the poet Magda Isanos. They moved to Bucharest in 1945, where they lived until their  death.

Eusebiu Camilar  inherited from his parents the  house, restored it and filled it with another room and a veranda. The writer died on August 27, 1965 by liver disease. In 1980, the writer’s daughter, Elizabeth Goian, donated the house to  the Romanian state  to organize a memorial museum here. The building at that time was worth 9,000 lei, with an additional movable property valued at 6,000 lei. Suceava County Museum has replaced the fence, restored the house and opened it as a museum in 1984. Since 1995, this annual festival is organized national literature „Eusebiu Camilar – Magda Isanos”.

The memorial house has three spacious rooms, two halls, veranda and porch. In the three rooms of the house they were organized a memorial exhibition spaces base and containing a substantial collection of exhibits (furniture, personal items etc.) with an impressive force evocative, suggestive universe of hard work by a cruel realism, on Eusebiu Camilar that left posterity in pages of prose, poetry and drama. Here are exposed old furniture, household inventory peasant, photographs, paintings, family documents, manuscripts, books, magazines, newspapers etc. Since 2004, the memorial house Eusebiu Camilar is  on the List of Historical Monuments in Suceava.

 

TELEORMAN

 

  1. Zaharia Stancu Memorial House

Location: Salcia, Teleorman County

The memorial house is located in the center of the village, next to City Hall. It belonged, in fact, the writer’s sister, Lisaveta. The building was converted into a memorial house in 1994, exposing objects, documents and photographs on the life and work of poet and novelist Zaharia Stancu (1902-1974) and now houses the municipal library.

In the first room of the house, the first thing that attracts attention is a caricature of the writer, made by I. Ross. Even pictures on the wall near where Zaharia Stancu are immortalized talking to women from Salcia  or holding it in his arms his nephew Tudor. In the second and last room commemorating author reconstituted Office. On it stands a bronze inkwell holder, knife sharpening a bronze plaque with the portrait of all and a folder. „The knife is received from the Russian writer Leonid Leonov and support inkwell and map have both marks owl. They say the owl was wearing his lucky Zaharia Stancu, „explains Cornelia Olteanu, village librarian. It invites all visitors to sign the guest book from the memorial house and thus have the chance to even sit on the seat  in which Zaharia Stancu wrote perhaps one of his greatest works. Zaharia Stancu (b. October 5, 1902, Willow, Teleorman – d. December 5, 1974, Bucharest) was a Romanian writer, author, theater director, journalist, poet and publicist.

After he left school at age 13, he worked in various jobs until 1919, when he went on to study literature and philosophy at the University of Bucharest. After graduation, he became a journalist. In 1932 he published the magazine Today and, in 1937,  the Romanian newspaper Democratic World. Both publications were banned by the fascist regime. In this conditions, Stancu was banned from publishing. In his capacity as journalist was closed before the Second World War. In 1946 he became director of the Bucharest National Theatre, a post he held for more than 20 years.

He was  a member of the Romanian Academy and Chairman of the Writers Union of Romania. He won the State Prize for Literature, and in 1971,  he received the award Gotfried von Herder from the Austrian government.

His novel Barefoot, who „has traveled the globe with gold sandals”, as the author liked to say, is the most translated Romanian novel of all time, being translated into 24 languages until 1988, among others, with a translation in Japanese.

 

TIMIS

 

  1. Dositei Obradovici Memorial House

Location: Ciacova, Timis County

In  the town Ciacova, the street that today bears his name, is the memorial house Dositei Obradovic. Commemorative plaques and bronze image of the writer are installed on the front of the house where he was born. Dositej Dimitrije Obradović (b. February 17, 1742, Ciacova – d. 1811 Belgrade) was a monk, writer and translator serb enlightenment that great Serbian culture strongly influenced by his writings, born in Banat  in the town Ciacova, from a serb family. For small taught both Serbian and Romanian.

After his parents death, he remains with his uncle that desires that his nephew  to become a priest. The young man  dreams to became a monk so he is running with a monk to Turkey. But he is caught and returned home, and then sent to Timisoara. After just one year he is  running again in August 1757,  at the monastery Novo Hopovo. Here he becomes  a deacon and takes the name Dositej (Dositei). He  remains in the convent until November 2, 1760,  when he is going to Zagreb. It was just the beginning of a journey of more than 45 years throughout Europe. He traveled through Albania, Dalmatia, Corfu, Greece, Hungary, Turkey, France, Russia, Britain, Italy. He returns in Romania and, for a time, became professor in Iasi. Then he is leaving  to Germany, Poland, Austria.

In addition to Serbian and Romanian languages which increased Obradovic teaches a multitude of languages and dialects.  He learns ancient and modern Greek, Latin, German, English, French, Albanian, Italian.

In 1806 he moves to Serbia, and two years later he  founded the „Grand School” from Belgrade that  would become later  University.

Obradovici died in 1811 in Belgrad after almost five decades of wandering the world.

 

IASI

 

  1. Mihai Codreanu Memorial House

Location: Iasi, Iasi County

In the building that had became a museum in august 1970  and called „Sonnet Villa” lived and created master of the  romanian sonnet   Mihai Codreanu (1876-1957).

The building is located near downtown in an old neighborhood, near an ancient pubs with historical resonance, bohemian venue Iasi and especially to personalities such as Eminescu, Creanga, Caragiale – „Cold vault.”

As soon as we approach the building, it is characterized by two bronze statues of two dogs that guard embodying the front steps. The place on which  was built the house the writer had  received it  from Iasi City Hall, in gratitude for his literary merits.

Built in 1934,  in romanian-style after an architect formed at the school plan „Mincu” Sonnet Villa will wear forever mark early sonneteer and numerous literary meetings between the personalities of Romanian writing among Sadoveanu, G. Topîrceanu, Al. Ionel Teodoreanu, Otilia Cazimir and others.

After the poet’s death in 1957, in the  home had continued to live his wife, Ecaterina  Teodoreanu, and after her death in 1970, the house became a memorial museum.

The museum includes not only the ground floor but, as written in the will of Ecaterina Teodorescu and remains as long as the poet lived here, recalling the atmosphere of the house in the first half of the twentieth century.

 

  1. Memorial House Mitropolit Dosoftei

Location: Iasi, Iasi County

It is a building from the second half of the eighteenth century, the Metropolitan Dosoftei installed in 1679, the second printing press from Moldova.  The house with three facades with arched windows and rectangular, with open porch with tall columns and svelte, with turrets peasant was restored between 1966 and 1969. In August 1970 here was  opened old literature department of Romanian Literature Museum.

Metropolit Dosoftei left a deep mark in the  religious life of Moldova, giving a fresh impetus this life. The reestablishment of printing, by printing new books, especially religious ritual, Dosoftei follows firmly in the era of cultural works Vasile Lupu.

Main Metropolit Dosoftei opera and his first writing which saw the light of day is Psalter in verse appearing in 1673 in a Polish town, Uniev. He translated this book from Slavonic.

This translation, appeared in 1680.

 

  1. Memorial House Costache Negruzzi

Location: Trifești, Iasi County

Memorial House Costache Negruzzi  from Hermeziu is a memorial museum established in the house in which  was born and lived  the writer Costache Negruzzi  (1808-1868) in the village Hermeziu from  Iasi County.

Negruzzi family mansion  is dating from the period 1807-1810, belonging first to  Dinu Negruț

( Costache Negruzzi ‘s father) who received at his marriage with Sofia Hermeziu,  as dowry, inheritance Old Trifești (village then called Hermeziu, from  1967 Meadow Prut and from 1996 again Hermeziu).

Constantin (Costache) Negruzzi (b. 1808 Hermeziu village, Iasi County – d. August 24, 1868) was a Romanian politician and writer during forty-eighter.

Born in Old Trifești (today Hermeziu) near by  the Prut river, near Iasi, is the son of  Dinu Negruzzi, home freeholder, reached the rank of butler gent, and Sofia Hermeziu. He began teaching in Greek with one of the  greek teachers most  famous then in Iasi and Romanian taught himself from a book of Petru Maior as himself confesses in an article entitled How I learned Romanian,  very interesting for the  details which gives the methods employed by the teachers of that time.

Revolution broke out in 1821, fled with his father in Basarabia. In Chisinau  he meet’s  the russian poet Pushkin, that awakens the taste for literature and  with a French emigrant with  he  takes lessons in french language and french  literature. From this period dates his first literary attempts.

 

  1.  Memorial House Mihail Kogalniceanu

Location: Iasi, Iasi County

Memorial House „Mihail Kogalniceanu ” is located in an old residential neighborhood in Iași in which is  the Museum of Literature „Pogor”  and the house „Gane”.

This is the house where the great naturalist Emil Racovita was born, where lived  the sociologist Andrei Petre,  and then Mihail Kogalniceanu.

Built in 1836 in the neoclassical style, it is considered a historical and architectural monument which now houses personal items, documents, books that belonged to the Romanian historian and politician Mihail Kogalniceanu (1817-1891).

Charming personality of the modern epoch, passionate spirit and comprehensive, Mihail Kogalniceanu stands out among the most talented representatives of forty-eighter generation. History and renowned journalist, politician and diplomat, he proved to be, above all, the first defender of our national interests.

The building has witnessed first kneading revolutionist, fulfillment and independence ideals of unity among whom stood fascinating personality of Mihail Kogalniceanu. As „adiotant ruled” of  the ruler Mihail Sturdza and Grigore Alexandru Ghica, the owner receives here all the plenipotentiaries of foreign powers, the heads of government of Russian members partied unionist and later the ruler Alexandru Ioan Cuza and King Charles I . On his  fifth visit that he  made in Iasi, in April 1869, Prince Carol was hosted in Kogalniceanu’s home  , where „was received by the elite of our society”.

 

  1. Ion Creanga’s hovel

Location: Iasi, Iasi County

Ion Creanga’s hovel was opened as a museum on April 15, 1918, becoming the first memorial house from Romania and one of the 12 objectives that comprise the Romanian Literature Museum.

It was restored on several occasions: 1918, 1946, 1968, 1984-1986, 1989.

In slum Țicău to the wattle hut moves with son Constantin writer for 12 years after divorce Ileana. During his time Ion Creangă was grateful that its Țicău in box had a fairly large group of cats (about 30), and each wore a name associated with a real person in his life. For example, always had a cat called Marioara like his aunt in his native village Humulești stingy.

The house built before 1850 in the Valley of Baca, Ticau suburb, an alley „muddy when rains large and lengthy said and rotten and drought moaned dust off her” is a typical peasant modest, with verandah, two chambers and four cross-shaped windows.

Plan „Hovel” recalls the tripartite structure of the Romanian traditional house comprising an entrance hall in the middle, with rooms on either side of her. In this case, the two rooms are located on the right and left a mysterious tends to lead somewhere behind the house, toward the porch where looking „sky full of wonders” Eminescu his story Creangă „many good things” .

Culture lovers here can contemplate original exhibits from writer who stayed in two rooms: the horn similar to that of the parental home Humulești and the „clean”, which was hosted Mihai Eminescu in 1876.

 

  1. Memorial House Mihail Sadoveanu

Location: Iasi, Iasi County

Monument architectural villa „square turret” Hill hounds, located in the Agronomic Institute, was built in 1842 by Mihail Kogalniceanu which belonged several decades.

In the first part of the twentieth century, during World War I, it was occupied by another great personality of Romanian culture, the great composer George Enescu who had settled temporarily following the war in Iasi.

In 1918, at a time when  George Enescu was about to unstuck from the  resident who had become dear and in  who composed and sang for three years, chance willed that Mihail Sadoveanu to step into the  Copou house. For several months, muse of music and writing presided over both in a same house. In 1919, Sadoveanu decide to settle here with his entire extended family. Thus, finally, his muse Mihail Sadoveanu remained to master one and for two decades until 1936 when the family Sadoveanu moves to Bucharest, lived in freedom in this framework, inspiring the greatest novelist of our people.

In this house Sadoveanu wrote about 35 operas.

In 1947, Mihail Sadoveanu donates the area to  the Institute of Agronomy in Iasi. Until 1980 the house served as headquarters of the Institute of Linguistics, Literary History and Folklore of the Academy and Institute of Anthropology.

It was restored between 1978-1980.

 

  1. Memorial House Elie Wiesel

Location: Sighetu Marmatiei, Maramures County

In this house  he lived his first 15 years of life the  Nobel Laureate for Peace, known as  Elie Wiesel (b. September 30, 1928, Sighetu Marmatiei) – novelist, playwright, essayist and philosopher, humanist, diarist, writer and journalist in French, English, Yiddish and Hebrew, human rights activist.

Deported in 1944 with his family and other 38,000 Hebrew  by the Nazi regime and hortyst concentration camps of Auschwitz, Birkenau, Buchewald and others, Elie Wiesel survived the Holocaust and became American Jew.

In  the year 1986 he was awarded with  the Nobel Peace Prize. In 1996 he was appointed member of the American Academy of Arts and Literature in 2001 and is honorary member of the Romanian Academy. He is the author of 57 books – the most famous is the „Night,” an autobiographical description about life in Nazi extermination camps.

Memorial House Elie Wiesel was inaugurated on July 29, 2002, in the historical center in the Sighetu Marmatiei. In August 2002, the gates of this house are opened  by Ellie Wisel himself, accompanied by the President of Romania at that time and numerous local and national officials. Here you will find an impressive collection of photographs, religious objects, furniture and other exhibits, all from the Jewish community in Maramures.

 

  1. The House Dunca (Patu)

Location: Sighetu Marmatiei, Maramures County

Part of Maramures Museum, The House Dunca is one of museum points preserved in situ (maintained in its original location).  It is located in the town Ieud on the left side of the country road leading to the Church of  Ses near it.

The house was donated to the museum by the family Dunca to be restored and arranged as an local museum, which in addition to ethnographic objects, has a room presenting local history, focusing on the struggle of resistance against Soviet occupants, socializing with all its effects.

The construction is from the begining  of the century. It is entirely made of resinous wood. Plan of the house includes two large rooms separated by a porch and a porch on the front and left side. It has cellar with stone walls covered with wood beams. The roof has four slopes, face being provided with skylights. Upon entering the backyard through the care AFDPR (Association of Former Political Prisoners in Romania), it was installed a  cross monument carved wooden cross in memory of the heroes.

 

  1. John Mihályi of Apșa Memorial House

Location: Sighetu Marmatiei, Maramures County

The House Museum „Dr. John Mihályi of Apșa ” is housed in the building that the  illustrious politician lived this culture and Maramures. The museum is composed: on the ground floor of an art gallery with works of painter Traian Biltiu Dancus, the sculptor John Bledea and other works from private collections donated.

The exhibition begins with a lounge upstairs where we can see type furniture Louis VI, rococo, paintings and  family pictures. The next room is the room of the academician, kept entirely – library, antique paintings, original documents, etc. Here you can see the work office and noble family crest. The next room is dedicated  to Mihályi Sofia. In these rooms, the interiors are kept intact  and at all times  you expect to enter the door  a family member. Also upstairs there is also an exhibition of local cultural history centered on the emancipation of the Romanians, culminating to the Great Union of Maramures with the mother country.

John Mihályi of Apșa (b. January 25, 1844, press the Middle Maramures, today Sredne Vodiane, Ukraine d. Oct. 14, 1914, Gherla) was a Romanian historian, member of the Romanian Academy (1901).

 

  1. Vasile Kazar Memorial House

Location: Vadul Izei, Maramures County

Memorial House „Vasile Kazar ‘’ is part of the museum collection from Viseu de Sus, Maramures Museum, located on the street of the church in a small garden.

It is a traditional house from the eighteenth century that graphic Vasile Kazar acquiring it and use it for creation. In time, he bought a bigger house (the beginning of the century) and donated his old house  to the museum  together with  the ethnographic collection. It was restored  and  arranged as a museum.

Built of round oak beams, it has the classic plan: room, porch, pantry and porch with pillars and cool arcade face. Ridged roof is made of shingle and provided with two skylights. Garden and yard with two houses, is a delightful place to rest from spring to late autumn.

Vasile Kazar (1913 – 1998) is the author of a work of a sovereign consistency, which maps the imaginary territory that belongs exclusively. This world  is recomposed from fragments of a figurative fabulous memories, which amalgamates memories of Maramures native returned an own key and viewing footage of the tragic history of the twentieth century. He studied free painting courses. He worked in the timber industry. It was curator, head of departments at the Art Museum in Bucharest.

 

  1. Ion Siugariu Memorial House

Location: Tăuții Măgherăuș, Maramures County

Open to visitors in the year 1983, the house where the poet  Ion Siugariu (1916-1945) was born  the house keeps  the manuscripts, photographs, correspondence, family furniture and objects specific to the mining area.

Ion Siugariu was an important representative of the generation of intellectuals around the war, poet and journalist of great talent. He attended primary school in Baita and after  finishing the fourth class, is admitted as a student at the Normal School in Oradea. In June 1932 passes into the upper High School „Emmanuel Gojdu” Oradea. Transylvania artistic effervescence started in 1933 corresponds to the high school years to Ion Siugariu.

 

  1.  Ilie Lazar’s  House Museum

Location: Giulesti, Maramures County

Traditional architectural monument , the  house originally belonged to Greek Catholic archpriest

Vasile Mihaly and was built in 1826, as certified inscription in Latin.

On the back is carved in wood another inscription: „Descendant Lazarus”, the two families were related.

In this house, on November 28, 1918, Dr. Ilie  Lazar called Maramures delegates to go to Alba Iulia where on December 1, 1918, will forever sign of Maramures union with the mother country.

The house is preserved and restored in situ.

The monument is part of the specificity of traditional Maramures architecture. The feet are massive oak beams and walls of spruce round ended corners „Romanian lapel” and placed in the „blockbau”. The shingle roof is in four waters, very high, equipped with skylights. The house has a plan developed for that time: six rooms, and front and side „porch”  with pillars and arches. From the porch is falling into two very spacious side rooms, each with access through a door to the backyard corresponding rooms. Access to the bridge is through the small room at the back of the outer room.

 

  1. Collection Kis Miklós Tótfalusi

Location: Tăuții Măgherăuș, Maramures County

It is located across the road  from the Reformed church in the old parish house – a building from  sec. XVIII century and considered a historical monument.

Opened in 1991, the museum is dedicated to the  Hungarian printer  born here, who lived between 1650-1702. The museum presents its original prints and photocopies. His masterpiece, the fourth edition of the Bible in Hungarian, published letters from him and cast his own expense in 1685 has, after the appearance of the cover, the Golden Bible name.

Activity admire most visually and spiritually, it is a bright chapter in the history of the Bible, literature and cultural history.

Tótfalusi Miklós Kis (1650 – 1702) was born in 1650 in the Tăuții Măgherăuș, in a family of common people.

Between the walls of the school Gábor Bethlen College of Aiud, between 1670-1677, the years spent here I have outlined the personality, world view, the strong will to overcome the hardships of life, the courage to struggle and to achieve goals. Here it began and friendship with the famous doctor and linguist, Pope Pariz Ferenc friendship that will last until death.

 

  1. Casa Village Museum „Home”

Location: Tăuții Măgherăuș, Maramures County

A traditional household in the courtyard of the school in Tăuții Măgherăuș attracts tourists passing through the area.

The farm in the museum – which received the name „Home” in the sense of „parental home” – belonged to the idly flowers in Bozinta Mare, who used to fumigate the attic meats made by villagers after butchering. After the woman died, the household – with house, barn, stable and Colne – has left her son, who was going to sell as firewood. Upon learning  of this, the teacher convinced him to donate it to the village Tăuții Măgherăuș that thus, all those who will visit the house to shed a tear in memory of the woman who lived here,  a woman of rare humanity. With the help of an curator, Emil Crâncău, dismantled the house and raised it in the  current place in the school orchard after he cleared a row of trees.

 

  1. Bernády György Memorial House

Location: Targu Mures, Mures County

In the house „György Bernády” from Targu Mures in the first room we can admire his work office, and the two murals depicting the particular value of the Hungarian important figures of the time.

György Bernády (b. April 10, 1864, Bistrita – d. October 22, 1938, Targu Mures) was mayor of Targu Mures between 1900-1912 and  1926-1929.

From his initiative was built a new headquarters for the city hall (now the Prefecture Palace in Targu Mures) and the Palace of Culture, representative for city buildings, built in the style of Viennese secession.

Dr. György Bernády is one of those public people who managed to radically change the image of the town beginning of the century, constantly representing citizens’ interests.The young Bernády support his baccalaureate exam in Tirgu Mures, but he continued his studies in Pest, where he became a doctor of pharmacy, but is licensed and legal sciences.

 

  1. Mihail  Sadoveanu Memorial House

Location: Vanatori, Neamt County

In the   town Vanatori-Neamt , next to the Hermitage Vovidenia is a building that houses alike Sadoveanu Memorial House and the  Museum Visarion Puiu.

The building (built in 1937) is built during and at the initiative of Metropolitan Visarion Puiu of  Bukovina (1899-1964) with destination bishop’s palace. Besides Metropolitan lived in it only a few years after his departure into exile (1944)  the house remaining in the  administration  of Neamt Monastery, later guest house.

Between 1948 – 1961 the building hosted the great storyteller  Mihail Sadoveanu, his family and friends,  being the the summer residence of Mihail Sadoveanu. Sadoveanu’s last visit at the house from Vanatori is  was  in the summer of 1961.

After the writer’s death, since 26 June 1966 it became a museum, being arranged, opened and managed by the Romanian Literature Museum in Bucharest (director Perpessicius, deputy director Theodore Vârgolici), with the support of family of the deceased writer (m. – October 19, 1961). The inauguration was attended by the then President of Romania, Nicolae Ceausescu.

 

  1. Calistrat Hogaș Memorial House

Location: Piatra Neamt, Neamt County

The Memorial House „Calistrat Hogaș” from  Piatra Neamt is the only museum dedicated to Romanian literature classics Calistrat Hogas and it is situated even in the house where the writer lived most of his life.

Built in 1885, the house museum is part of a large and beautiful farm that also included two other homes and an annex – the latter constituting dowry wife, complemented by a well-tended and productive orchard. Although for a  long time the writer’s  young family lived in the old houses, in the company of father-in-law the priest Costache Gheorghiu concerned about the comfort of his daughter – Elena – giving her a new house with annex, at his own expense.

Having a representative architectural style, the house is included in the list of architectural monuments of the National Cultural Heritage. Exalt the foundation of the earth, with walls combination of wood and earth, the floors wooden doors double leaf, the house preserved and stoves of brick and tiles painted, fitted with decorative elements neoclassical specific age and social position of the owners.

The building underwent restoration and consolidation between 1967-1969 and 1992-1994, while preserving the original structure.

After the death of  the writer, August 28, 1917,  in the house continued to live his family: his wife and two daughters – Cecilia and Sidonia.

 

  1. Veronica Micle Memorial House

Location: Targu Neamt, Neamt County

Built in the first half of the nineteenth century from wood and bricks in the most authentic Romanian style with porch and three rooms at  the street, the house was left in possession of Veronica Micle  as a dowry and inheritance from her  parents.

In 1886 the house was donated  to the Monastery Văratic, being used by the nuns who were receiving care at the hospital in Targu Neamt.

After passing through the hands of several owners, the building was declared a historic monument at the initiative of Constantin Matasa and from 1982 it  went into administration of the  Neamt County Museum Complex. It’s  rebuilt after the original plan as a memorial museum,  being opened to the public since 1984. In 1998 it is  placed a bust of the poet, made of bronze by  the sculptor Damian Ioan Popa.

The permanent exhibition it shows  moments of life  and poetic creation of Veronica  Micle (photocopies, manuscripts, books, personal objects that belonged to the poet, etc.).

Approximately 150 m southeast of the main church of the Monastery Văratec on a low ridge, is the Church „Birth of St. John the Baptist”. Near the southern wall of the church is the tomb of Veronica Micle  that died in 1889, testimony of ancient cemetery existent here and attraction for visitors of the monastery. Veronica Micle, n. Câmpeanu, (b. April 22, 1850, Năsăud; d. August 3, 1889, Văratec) published poems, short stories and translations in journals weather and a volume of poetry.

 

  1. George Enescu Memorial House

Location: Sinaia, Prahova County

In the brilliant destiny of George Enescu,  the town Sinaia and villa „Luminis” have a special meaning. Making a refuge from the villa in Sinaia,  George Enescu has organized his life so that here, in between concerts to find respite to compose.

The relationship between George Enescu, who by the two „Romanian Rhapsodies” managed to  make know  new Romanian music worldwide, and  the village Sinaia was not random. He has enjoyed  the support of   Queen Elizabeth, a lover of art who, recognizing young talent Enescu, offered him a room in a quiet corner of the Peles Castle where he could study.

The Castle becomes the launchpad for Enescu’s  music world. There followed long tours abroad, but the love for  the beauties of Sinaia  determined him with the money earned on his first tour to America to build a villa here, which he called  villa „Luminis”.

Located in  the district Cumpătu, the only district of the city Sinaia located on the right bank of Prahova,  villa was built between 1923 – 1926 by  the architect Radu Dudescu.

Made in authentic Romanian style and inspiring ambiance harmoniously integrated in Bucegi, the whole house is furnished and arranged with refinement and imagination coming together harmoniously and original decorative items and furniture in Romanian and oriental styles. The villa „Luminis” would be both a place of inspiration for a significant part of Enescu’s works and a place for recreation, master lived here for 20 years, between 1926 and 1946.

 

  1. Paul Erdős Memorial House

Location: Satu Mare, Satu Mare County

Opened in 1996 as an museum,  the Memorial Workshop Paul Erdos (1916-1987) is located in the passage Dacia no. 8 in a maximum concentration of cultural space: the  Philharmonic Dinu Lipati Satu Mare and  the Fire Tower.  The building houses upstairs the designer studio together with an impressive collection of cultural goods donated  to the museum from Satu Mare  by the artist . Downstairs is organized Temporary exhibitions, adapting opening program Philharmonic hosted cultural programs.

Born in the village Paul Erdos, on November 2, 1916 he performs his artistic studies  at the Colony painting in Baia Mare (1931), Budapest, Paris, Venice, Rome (1938). Between 1944-1945, caused by circumstances artist, with his family deported from Satu Mare and taken to Auschwitz, where he returns alone.

His  presence in the artistic and cultural life  in Satu Mare it  is felt between 1946-1952. Some functions he has held include director of the Theatre in Baia Mare in 1952 and secretary of the Union Artists Baia Mare.

 

  1. Ady Endre Memorial House

Location: Căuaș, Satu Mare County

The Memorial Museum Endre Ady was inaugurated on May 26, 1955 in the former Cafe Muller, a place often frequented by Ady Endre (1877-1919), journalist and poet – one of the great Hungarian poet and the literature of the twentieth century. The building was built in 1869 cafe in  the market in front of the Bihor Prefecture. The current appearance is due to rebuilding in 1895. Positioned in a central and featuring terrace the  cafe was a favorite of many people, including Ady Endre coming here to relax, but also to draw up articles and reports. It is said that during summer Endre sat at the table in the right corner of the terrace.

Memorial exhibition is organized in two rooms of the building. The objects exhibited particularly surprising cultural life and work of the poet Ady Endre during its Oradea filled with information about moments of his life spent in different cities or abroad.

There are manuscripts, documents of literary history, photographs, correspondence, various editions of poems, portraits and personal belongings of the poet. In the collection of manuscripts can be seen letters, postcards addressed to closer writer personalities, articles and poems signed other manuscripts from the poet’s close friends. Volumes are exhibited in the writer’s work (works of poetic and prose publishing) published during his lifetime or posthumously, among which the most valuable are those in the first edition, some of which are signed by the author. Included are works translated into various languages, published over time. Collection of documents highlights the importance and the impact that had on society Ady Endre Oradea, including cultural-literary readings, reciting poetry, performing arts, etc. Also in this collection included a vast correspondence Ady family members, and the different researchers of his work.

 

  1. Hermann Oberth Memorial House

Location: Medias, Sibiu County

Located on the road Sibiu no. 15 in the town of Medias, the museum is dedicated to the scientist Hermann Oberth (1894-1980), German physicist a native from Romania (born in Sibiu), one of the founders of modern astronautics.

Opened in 1994, it  is divided into modules dedicated to Conrad Haas – creator of the first-stage solid fuel missile scientist Hermann Oberth – father of space navigation and the first Romanian cosmonaut Dumitru Dorin Prunariu.

Hermann Julius Oberth (b. June 25, 1894, Sibiu – d. December 28, 1989, Nuremberg) was one of the founding fathers of modern astronautics rocket.

Fascinated as a child of Jules Verne’s novel „From the Earth to the Moon” H. Oberth has developed his thesis „The Rocket into Planetary Space” book now globally recognized that this intricate problems of space flight 40 years before the flight into space is possible.

Hermann Oberth married around the age of 35 years with Tilli Oberth (born Hummel) with whom he had four children, including one boy who  died at the front during World War II and a girl died soon after in August 1944 in a work accident.

Hermann Oberth died on December 28, 1989, at the age of 95 years in Feucht.

 

  1. Badea Cartan Memorial House

Location: Cârțișoara, County

The Memorial House Badea Cartan from Cârțișoara is in surprisingly good condition, compared with those who lived  Constantin Noica, Octavian Goga and Emil Cioran. The house of a man that walked  to Rome to see Trajan’s Column and to gather evidence about the Latin origin of the Romanian people has become the main attraction of the area. Until 1990, the museum was administered by a network of village museums. After its dismantling, the house passed into the museum heritage of Sibiu and now belongs to  Cârțișoara Hall.

Badea Cartan ensemble is composed from  the house and farmhouse barn 100 years ago hosting a collection of icons on glass and a large number of books and articles they belonged to him.

The first objects for the museum have been collected since 1960 by the Secretary hall and the local priest.

The museum building was donated by Mrs. Frâncu Silvia, daughter of former Vulcan priest with the express purpose for building a village museum, including a room designed by Badea Cartan. The museum contains a collection of icons on glass painters and folk Matthew and Țimforea icons of Nicula, Fagaras and Barsa cards left in Badea Cartan, homestead from the mid nineteenth century, composed of the house and barn, complete with specific area and period furniture, a collection of old photographs representing costumes of the nineteenth century and the twentieth century, chests made by local craftsmen in the nineteenth century and the twentieth century, pottery from the village of potters.

 

  1. Peasant House Museum Leontina

Location: Ciocănești, Suceava

Located between Obcinile Mestecănișului and Suhard Mountains on the shores of the Golden Bistrita, Ciocăneștiul is a place gifted with countless beauties.

Who gets on these lands attracted legends and lies its brilliance. Here lived the old artisans weapons during princes Bogdan Dragos and Stefan the Great. Legend has it that the arrow which marked the place of the altar of the monastery Putna was made Ciocanarii here and gild the Golden Bistrita.

Which earned him the reputation of the village museum and turned it into a joint tourism are not only beautiful landscape, industry people and patriarchal silence from every corner of the village, but other things related to the tradition. The village is famous for three things: national costume embroidered, painted eggs which are found the same beautiful and popular models painted houses.

If the costume and painted eggs Ciocănești are hundreds of years old houses that attract tourists, became emblematic of the village, are more involved in modernity than one thinks. Tradition has barely half a century and was born from the idea of ​​housewives – Leontina dust. At 88 years old, a widow for many years, she still sees the housework around the house. He turned the house into a museum, however. Between the walls decorated with folk motifs placed prominently carpets, rugs, towels secular and worked in peasant life.

 

  1. Ciprian Porumbescu Memorial  House

Location:  Ciprian Porumbescu, Suceava

The Memorial House Ciprian Porumbescu, opened in 1953, it is sheltered in an annex original – the only one that was kept – the former parish house of the village Stupca (today Porumbescu village in Suceava). The house was build in  the late nineteenth century.

The family priest, writer and campaigner from Bucovina,Iraclie  Porumbescu had lived in the parsonage from  Stupca between 1865 to 1884.

Here is reconstituted through exhibits authentic representing objects that belonged to the family (ex. Piano Marioarei Rațiu-Porumbescu – sister of the composer), an old-world atmosphere, mostly rustic, proper environment in which he lived and created in this village founder of Romanian music modern Porumbescu, suggesting universal relations with the village, the range of impressions that have made their mark on the personality and creative Porumbescu specific.

Porumbescu’s House is a historical monument of Suceava in 2004, with code SW-III-MB-05 679. Porumbescu born on 14 October 1853 at Sipotele Suceava, in a modest country house, the son of Emily and the priest Heraclius Golembiovski.

The future composer began using the name Golembiovski, then, for a period Golembiovski-Porumbescu and then Porumbescu.

 

  1.  Nicolae Labiș Memorial House

Location: Malini, Suceava

The Memorial House Nicolae Labiș  from Malini is a memorial museum founded in the house where the poet Nicolae Labis (1935-1956) lived in the village Malini Suceava County.

It was built by the  teachers Eugen and Profira Labiș in 1954 and is located in the village Malini. The house is composed  of five rooms and lobby. In this house, the young poet lived a short time from  his life and that stunning conceived here maybe the most significant part of his poetic creation.

The house has been restored as a museum before its organization in 1973. In 1975, this house was arranged a memorial house, under the administration of  the Complex Museum Bucovina  from Suceava. In 2001 it was awarded a number of current repairs (interior and exterior) of the dwelling.

In the five rooms of the house were reconstructed thanks exhibits genuine loaded with a variety of connotations evocative (books, exercise books, school supplies, clothing items, a bell with ‘Sound silver, a galena with the poet keep contact with the rumors of the world documents, photographs, posters, etc.), climate and creative life of the poet from Malini suggesting is essential coordinates of his work and contribution to the development of contemporary Romanian poetry.

 

  1. Simion Florea Marian Memorial House

Location: Suceava, Suceava County

The Memorial Museum Simion Florea Marian (1847 – 1907), folklorist and ethnographer internationally renowned member of the Romanian Academy, which is held in the house was bought and restored by himself.

Located in the center of Suceava, the building is one of the city’s oldest buildings, dating from the eighteenth century. It originally belonged to Baron Kapri, from Simion Florea Marian followers which bought it in 1884. As stated on a memorial plaque, the house was „Winning the pen” by the great ethnographer and folklorist, was bought with money from the prize was awarded by the Romanian Academy for his „folk Romanian Ornithological” (in 1883).

Memorial House hosts a dowry memoirs and documentary stately arranged in six rooms, from the memorial exhibition, continuing with reserved spaces of displaying an extensive collection of objects memoir, vintage, and ending with the intended study for researchers and specialists in the field (the old book Romanian and foreign periodicals, newspapers and magazines from sec. XIX, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, personal documents, cultural, historical, maps, musical scores etc.), totaling approximately 20 000 numbers. They reconstructed using old interior exhibits a genuine Romanian.

 

  1. House Museum Solca

Location: Solca, Suceava

The Solca House museum, is located on the access road to the Arbore Monastery and Humor is a representative monument in the traditional architecture and folk culture and civilization Bucovina.

The house museum dating from the seventeenth century is a monument of representative of the ethnographic laugh. It was opened to the public in 1971, exposing original objects specific to a peasant dwellings arranged naturally authentic.

The kitchen has a fireplace and traditional oven with hob, reconstituted by means of heated area typology.

 

  1. Memorial Museum Mihai  Radoi

Location: Bogdana, Teleorman County

It exposes objects, documents and photographs about  the life and work of writer-hero Mihai Radoi

(1893 – 1917), fell in the First World War, and objects on local history and ethnography.

The Memorial House, which later became Memorial Museum was established in 1980 under the aegis of cultural awakening society, by Eng. Radoi Dumitru, in memory of hero poet and the other heroes dead in three major European and global conflagration.

It is situated in the south-east of the village, near Lake Ratund, 250 m from the main road, the street named after the hero.

The building was constructed in 1973-1978 and was damaged in the earthquake of 1977 and 1987. The ground floor has three rooms with 300 exhibits, including: a hall with military equipment museums, objects that belonged hero, a hall with coins, archeology, literature and invented medals tables with common heroes and county. The museum has in its inventory and a film library with photos of the revolution, the miners and various national events in Cluj, Alba-Iulia, Badacin and others a Sound Archive recordings of the nineties Vasilica Radoi (n. Culcea) and color slides. Also, with photocopies of these old books and copies of documents and books of Romanian Academy Library, in regard to the millennial history of the village Bogdana, church history and the history of his school.

The museum collaborates with Bucharest Central Military Museum, History Museum in Alba Iulia, Teleorman County Museum of History, Archaeology Museum Drăgusani village and others.

 

  1. Nikolaus Lenau  Memorial House

Location: Lenauheim, Timis County

The Memorial House Nikolaus Lenau was established in 1932. The building that houses the museum was built in 1775, today is a historical monument. It is the house where in 1802  the poet Nikolaus Lenau was born.

Here are exhibit  8 rooms, manuscripts, books, the press clippings, photographs, paintings, busts, copies, etc., all reminiscent of Nikolaus Lenau’s life and work.

Nikolaus Lenau, born Nikolaus Franz Niembsch von Strehlenau, (b. August 25, 1802 in Csatad, Timis County, today Lenauheim, Timis county – d. August 22, 1850 at Oberdöbling bei Wien, Austria) was an important Austrian romantic poet.

After he spent his youth in Hungary (Pest, Tokaj and Pojon) he  went to Vienna where he studied between 1822 and 1832 jurisprudence, philosophy, agronomy and medicine, but not a doctorate.

He lived a consistent legacy as a freelancer writer. From 1832 to 1844 he led a sheltered life, divided between Vienna and Schwaben. He broke several engagements. The last six years of life were spent in a hospice.

 

  1. House Museum Dr. Karl Diel

Location: Jimbolia, Timis County

Dr. Karl Diel Memorial House was inaugurated on 11 August 2000 at the third edition of the festival „Jimbolia days ” joint effort of Prof. Dr. Pia Branzeu (granddaughter of dr. Karl Diel) and  City Hall Jimbolia.

He was a personality  of Jimbolia alongside painter Stefan Jager, Dr. Karl Diel (1855 – 1930); he  was a surgeon, director of the Hospital of Jimbolia. Conducted over 50,000 interventions and operations. Since 1896, when he founded the Jimbolia City Hospital, administrate surgery ward. Between 1920 – 1928  he is director of the hospital, but lead a private sanatorium.

In 1940, the College of Physicians from Banat and the  population from Jimbolia raised a  statue in his memory.

According to statistics from the Institute of Medicine Timisoara archives that until 1911 the city hospital surgery ward Jimbolia were performed: 999 cranial surgeries, 1429 abdominal surgeries, 557 lombosciatica operations.

In autumn 1919, the partial evacuation of the Military Hospital in Timisoara, surgical cases were transferred and assigned Jimbolia hospital surgeon Karl Diel.

 

  1. Bartók Béla Memorial House

Location: Sannicolau Mare, Timis County

The Memorial House Bartók Béla  is a small museum with artifacts that belonged to the composer. The house has been redecorated to reflect the era and atmosphere where the composer lived. Presents the visitors panels and showcases photographs and original documents on the life and work of composer Béla Bartók (1881 – 1945), born in this city.

Pianist and composer of world renown who led Romania’s name all over the world, yet illustrious unknown in his home country, Béla Bartók saw the light of day on 25 March 1881 at Sannicolau Mare.

From small, he showed inclination towards music, and at age nine compose his first opera, „Waves of the Danube”. The school does Sânnicolau Mare, Oradea, Bistrita, Bratislava and Budapest. In 1903 he completed his studies and claimed first hometown concert.

Recognition in music, in 1907 he became a professor at the Academy of Music in Budapest.

Throughout life, Béla Bartók showed a keen interest in Romanian folklore. Thus, beginning in 1909, will address the gathering intense Romanian folk songs and other nationalities.

His passion for folklore made the Bartók Béla to lean heavily toward the field, managing to collect, transcribe and classify over 10,000 folk songs, more than a third of them Romanian.

Collection his labor „Romanian folk songs from Bihor County” in 1913, „Maramures folk song” 1923, „Melodien der Rumenischen Carols” in 1935, „musical dialect of Romanians in Hunedoara”.

 

  1. Stefan Jäger Memorial House

Location: Jimbolia, Timis County

The museum is dedicated to the life and work of painter Stefan Jäger (1877-1962). It is built on the former Memorial House with financial support of the Ministry of Culture in Bavaria – Germany.

The official opening of the Museum Stefan Jäger (new construction) was achieved on 4 April 1996.

The building has 5 rooms structured as follows: a section of ethnography, a branch of archeology, a room with photographs of personalities Jimbolia, a meeting room, a room and a corridor Swabian Luminor for exhibitions taking place on various occasions in Jimbolia.

The workshop painter remained unchanged and comprises, besides the objects that belonged to the painter, 11 works in oil, watercolors and drawings.

Modern conditions offered by the museum make it a favorite place to organize various exhibitions, book launches, conferences etc.

Stefan Jäger (German Stefan Jäger) (b. May 31, 1877, Cenei – d. March 16, 1962, Jimbolia) was a Romanian painter ethnic German from Banat, called „the painter Swabian” known for his paintings depicting the history, life, traditions and customs Banat Swabians.

 

  1. Manor Măldărescu (I.G. Duca)

Location: Măldărești, Valcea

Stately by massive walls, fortified manor was built in 1812 by Gheorghe Măldărescu even if the inscription on the wall of the floor can be deciphered in 1827, that is the year of execution stucco.

Construction of rectangular shape with a nose in the west, consists of ground floor and two floors. The ground floor has the characteristics gathered, being provided with an access door oak wooden floors, basement and common inhabited part of the abutments and five small windows which look like narrow ramparts. Here we see enormous wooden pillars supporting massive beams. Particularly noted for its authentic decor, this room was used very often in cinematographic here is pouring reference movies like „fearless”, „Road of Bones”, „Iancu Jianu – Outlaw”.

The first floor comprises a large room, bedroom and hall, iarla II floor two rooms, a smaller room and a large porch ceiling of which is divided into three registers, with each one motif in the middle.

It can be seen stoves mouth variety and beauty of loading in the stove room to another, with different designs from one room to another and are living witnesses of the art of craft long gone.

 

  1. I.G. Duca Memorial House

Location: Măldărești, Valcea

After the purchase in 1910 of the abutments Măldărescu, I.G. Duca in 1912 adds the next house to be used as vacation home – now a memorial museum and later, in 1930, a building smaller end of the park – today includes offices, restoration workshop.

The project is made by architect Alexander Stefanescu and is designed in the form of „L” with ground. Between 1974-1975, plastering and roof are restored and repaired electrical system. In 1994 it comes back on the roof is covered with sheet, saving thus building from rainfall and damage from freeze-thaw phenomenon. In the same period to restore the park and arranged both abutments yard and backyard Duca.

The current building reflects the size and arrangement, good taste and modesty of a man who, although prime minister arrived, managed to keep everything made sense measure.

 

  1. Anton Pann Memorial House

Location: Ramnicu Valcea, Valcea

The house that hosts the memorial exhibition Anton Pann  is an urban architectural monument, built in the middle of the eighteenth century, with gazebo and cellar.

The exhibition tries to point wanderings on land Vâlcii dating from 1826-1828, 1836-1840, of one who has remained in the consciousness followers as „the clever son as a proverb Pepel” and was „teacher of musichie ‘school organized the Bishop Râmnic.

The exhibition was designed to illustrate the inside of modest middle housing fair nineteenth century, here we are presented furniture (sofa, library, table, chairs), decorative tin, brass, alpaca and portraits of personalities of the era: including that of Mother Meletina, abbot of the monastery From a Wood and typographer John Popovich, who had links with the life and work of the writer.

 

  1. Manor Greceanu

Location: Măldărești, Valcea

The Manor Greceanu has kept this name as time passed by dowry from family to family Măldărescu Greceanu.

Going over the building of this edifice legend that assigns one of his captains Mihai Tudor Viteazul- Maldar – arguments historic building dating back to the late eighteenth century, when it was being rebuilt, it is raised to the ground by „ego Master boss George and Eva Măldărescu „.

Are some indications of Brancoveanu style: the cellar windows fretted stonework, two porches with arches and vaults penetration in the room on the first floor that reinforce these statements.

Access to visitors is an oak door locked and continues with a wooden staircase to the first floor. The outer wall of the staircase is pierced by two holes for the defense of the shooting.

On the first floor of the porch wide open to the south, it enters a room small where with the help of ladders, could be reached in the safest place in case of danger, the real hiding place of the building, very small size and equipped with only a small window. Also on the first floor there is another room, former reception room, which was transferred into another room sustained groin, where the painter Olga Greceanu immortalized in the fresco images of the past, giving posterity portraits of family Măldărescu taking as model votive painting of the church nearby.

 

  1.  The House Museum Ciprian  Porumbescu

 

Location:  Ciprian Porumbescu, Suceava County

 

Set in the impressive surroundings of a park trees and rare flora species, the museum covers a memorial exhibition evoking using some exhibits genuine (piano, cello, baton Porumbescu’s violin and the cover album „votive” Berta offered his beloved Ciprian Gorgon etc.), photographs, prints, posters, numismatic or philatelic significant moments in the life and work which gave the fruit Romanian music talent creative expression in so many of his compositions immortal: Ballad for violin and piano, Rhapsody Romanian song Flag, Anthem Unirii (On the our flag), operetta and many other parts Crai Nou musical enjoys a wide popularity country and abroad.

 

 

Comments are closed.